Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Im doing a project and need some help.... — Parallax Forums

Im doing a project and need some help....

boebot_fanaticboebot_fanatic Posts: 5
edited 2005-01-26 10:57 in BASIC Stamp
Hi im in 2nd year electronics and am starting a project using the boebot to map out an unknown enviroment.
Any ideas about getting started would be greatly apprieciated (i.e. how do you get the thing to map out the dimensions of the room?)

Comments

• achilles03achilles03 Posts: 247
    edited 2005-01-21 16:08
    I can think of two ways, one easy (but not accurate), one harder (but accurate)

One way (easy way) is to have it go until it bumps into a wall, turn 90 degrees and go again until it hits another wall..... that should be the corner, and you can use that as a starting point. Then start timing how long it's traveling. Turn 90 degrees and go until it hits another wall, all the while measuring the time it's traveling (or wheel revolutions?) before hitting. That will give you one dimension (if you know the velocity or wheel size, depending on if you're using time or wheel revs)... repeat the turn/run cycle again for the other dimension. Maybe have it check to make sure it's following the wall (and not wandering off) for increased accuracy.

Another way (the harder way) would need additional equipment. It involves the bot finding a wall and following the perimeter of the room somehow, and have 2 "locating" beacons (separate from the bot, a know distance apart but anywhere in the room). If it knows it's location relative to the beacons, it can determine more accurately the dimensions of the room. The concept of behind aircraft VOR comes to mind...