Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Video multiplexer - BS2 — Parallax Forums

Video multiplexer - BS2

ufadedufaded Posts: 8
edited 2005-01-20 20:33 in BASIC Stamp
Hi,
··· I would like to use the BS2 for a project I am going to attempt but am not sure it can do what I want it to. I would like to switch video with it. I want to take three different video signals, put them each on a different I/O,· select them with some sort of binary code on three other I/O's, and then bring one of the videos out on another I/O (according to the one I select). Something like a video multiplexer 3:1. Would the BS2 be capable of this (passing the video) from one I/O to another. What would the on resistance be between the two I/O's? Would it make the video noisy? Hopefully you can assist me.

Thanks,
JB

I hope that made sense (if you can't tell, Im a newbie to the stamp world)

Comments

• GadgetmanGadgetman Posts: 2,436
    edited 2005-01-20 19:26
    You'll need Analog switch ICs to handle the signals, but it should be doable.

Take a look at what Maxim has of chips:
    http://www.maxim-ic.com/SwitchMux.cfm
  • Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2005-01-20 19:30
    Without a TBC (time base corrector) you're probably going to get a bit of glitch-and-roll when switching between sources.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
    Dallas, TX· USA
  • ufadedufaded Posts: 8
    edited 2005-01-20 19:39
    I mainly would like to use the BS2 as SPST switch (short one I/O to another - depending on which I address). I would actually like to make it a 3P3T switch. I am not too concerned about glitches when switching as it wont be switching at any fast rate. I think the main thing I am concerned with is that video is analog, and the BS2 is digital. I just want to switch the video through from one I/O to another. Any advice?

Thanks
  • achilles03achilles03 Posts: 247
    edited 2005-01-20 19:45
    You stated in your original post: