Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BS2SX serial port and a Dell Laptop — Parallax Forums

BS2SX serial port and a Dell Laptop

okc.engineerokc.engineer Posts: 12
edited 2005-01-18 01:32 in BASIC Stamp
Hi there,

Being a stamp newbie, I don't know how to solve this problem.· My company builds a product based on the BS2SX, and the firmware includes several commands that require communication with a terminal.· Since the stamp does not utilize the normal RS232 standard voltage levels, I can't seem to get it to communicate with my Dell D800 Laptop.· It works fine with my older desktop computer, and it seems to work fine on my boss's older Dell laptop, but no luck with my new laptop.

One of the things I have tried was placing a 10k pull-up resistor on the RS232 SOUT pin (1) and pull it up to the 12 volt level.· For communication this works fine, but when the RS232 plug is disconnected, the stamp appears to shut down.· The same thing happens if I connect the resistor to the SIN pin (2).

Does this mean I am going to have to use a level translator to get this to work with my Laptop?

Thanks!
Bill

Comments

• steve_bsteve_b Posts: 1,563
    edited 2005-01-13 22:21
    Are you using all the rs232 pins?

Or have you built your own custom cable and using tx/rx and gnd.

A couple years ago I ran in to a problem (non-stamp related) with interfacing to a piece of gear.
    The cable I had initially made used rx/tx and gnd.· (pins 2&3 and pin7 for gnd).·
    This worked on an old laptop I was using....but when I upgraded to a new laptop it no longer worked.
    Well, I wasn't happy!· And these were proper rs232 levels.
    But I found that the pin7 I was using was a chassis ground and not the signal ground of pin5.
    So that's my first tip is to be sure you're using a proper ground!

level translators are easy to use.· The MAX232CPE is one IC and 5caps...But, you can buy the MAX232 with the caps already in them (don't know the product code).

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    ·