Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
SERIN hangs or crashes when connected to wavecom modem — Parallax Forums

SERIN hangs or crashes when connected to wavecom modem

Paul LeighPaul Leigh Posts: 4
edited 2005-01-13 01:16 in BASIC Stamp
Hi, I'm new to the stamp development scene. I've built a breadboard with a MAX232 chip on it. The aim being to be able to initiate a call via a Wavecom GSM modem.

With the code and setup as it is, I can send AT Commands and view them via HyperTerminal. The SEROUT and SERIN seems to work fine. ie: I can see the AT Command appear in the terminal window and if I type inthe terminal I can see the values via a debug statement.

The problem I have is if I take the same code and connect a wavecom modem (Maestro 20), then the process hangs at the SERIN line. The Stamp needs to be reset to continue.

I've checked the modem out with the same cable and HyperTerminal and all is well.

The code snippet I'm using is a follows. I'd be grateful for any assistance you guys could offer.

· MakeCall:
··· ModemResponse VAR Byte(2)
··· DEBUG "SEROUT - AT", CR
··· SEROUT TX\RTS, BAUD, [noparse][[/noparse]"AT",CR]
··· SERIN· RX\CTS, BAUD, [noparse][[/noparse]STR ModemResponse\2]
· RETURN

Comments

• achilles03achilles03 Posts: 247
    edited 2005-01-12 21:17
    My initial guess is that it doesn't appear to be on the stamp side. It sounds like a question for someone familiar with that brand of modem. Two things I would check are:

1. Are you communicating at the right BAUD rate with the modem (what's the modem set for)?
    2. Do you anticipate the modem sending a full 2 bytes worth of data?

Look at the "SERIN" command in the manual and read up on timeouts. That will atleast prevent you from having to reset, and will tell you it didn't receive anything.

Dave
  • Paul LeighPaul Leigh Posts: 4
    edited 2005-01-12 21:43