Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Connect using serial to usb — Parallax Forums

Connect using serial to usb

BURL IRWINBURL IRWIN Posts: 2
edited 2004-12-30 18:39 in BASIC Stamp
jumpin.gif·I am brand new to stamps. My background is industrial electrical, process control and instrumentation.· I purchased a homework board some time ago and am finally trying to connect it to my new laptop USB port with an adapter cable purchased from Parallax.· I am powering the homework board with a 6V regulated power supply.· My laptop has 3 USB ports and auto select is enabled.· When I plug the USB cable into any of the ports I get an audible confirmation from my computer that a connection has been made but when I try to communicate with the stamp I get a message that the com port can't open.· I have tied assigning every possible com port to be used with the same result. If anyone can help with this I would appreciate it very much.· I'm new to this so start from square one. Thanks.
···································
·······························································BURLIRWIN@MSN.COM

Comments

• Ken GraceyKen Gracey Posts: 7,387
    edited 2004-12-29 23:36
    Burl,

Worry not. We will get you up and running. You will likely need to install drivers. I assume you are using the FTDI USB to Serial Adapter? If so, did you follow the instructions at this link?

http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=800-00030

At the bottom of the page there is a PDF file showing the installation procedure.

This should help.

Ken Gracey
  • dandreaedandreae Posts: 1,375
    edited 2004-12-30 18:39
    If you are using Windows XP I·think that you may need to change the latency setting in your com port.· The easiest way to do this is to:

Click on "Control Panel"

Click·on "Systems"

Click on "Hardware"

Click on "Device Manager"

Click on "Ports"

Click on the com port that you are using

Click on "Port Setting"