Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Sonar Rangefinder Question — Parallax Forums

Sonar Rangefinder Question

Randy StadhamRandy Stadham Posts: 17
edited 2005-01-28 08:42 in BASIC Stamp
Hi,

I am trying to make the sonar rangefinder circuit from the BS1 app notes page 123. I want to use it with·my BS2.· I am not very good with PBasic. Below is the BS1 code and then my attempt at BS2 code. Could anyone give me some help?
I am hoping that my circuit works. When I hook up the stamp to it I get nothing from the debug window.

Thanks,

Randy
PS if any one has any better ideas I am open to them except for buying one already made. I would like to do that but I am from out of town. Way out Beijing China to be exact.

' Program: SONAR.BAS
' The Stamp runs a sonar transceiver to measure distances
' up to 12 feet.
Symbol echo_time = w2 ' Variable to hold delay time
setup: let pins = 0 ' All pins low
output 0 ' Controls sonar xmitter
input 1 ' Listens to sonar receiver
ping: pulsout 0,50 ' Send a 0.5-ms ping
pulsin 1,1,echo_time ' Listen for return
debug echo_time ' Display time measurement
pause 500 ' Wait 1/2 second
goto ping
My BS2 Conversion
'{$STAMP BS2}
'{$PBASIC 2.5}
echo_time VAR Word
·······
······· OUTPUT 0
······· INPUT 1
ping:
····· PULSOUT 0,50
····· PULSIN 1,1,echo_time
····· DEBUG echo_time
····· PAUSE 500
····· GOTO ping

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2004-12-29 14:26
    You need to crack open the help file and make adjustments in your parameters -- the BS1 is slower than the BS2 so the parameter values will be different. For example, a 0.5 ms pulse on the BS2 would be:

PULSOUT 0, 250

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
    Dallas Office
  • Randy StadhamRandy Stadham Posts: 17
    edited 2005-01-27 12:14
    Hi,

I am back still trying to get this home made sonar to work.