Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Question about updating variables thru 2x16 LCD and 4 button keypad — Parallax Forums

Question about updating variables thru 2x16 LCD and 4 button keypad

AndrewCAndrewC Posts: 3
edited 2004-12-29 05:07 in BASIC Stamp
I'm completely new to BASIC Stamp and I'm about to start a project with a BS2 (or BS2P). The project is going to be a very flexible phototrap. User interface will be a 2x16 LCD and four button keypad. Part of it will let the user select one of a set of up to 4 variables (delay_before_firing, rearm_time, etc. Each variable will be three decimal digits. It must be a fairly common task to select a variable, display it on line 1 and then use RIGHT, UP and DOWN arrow buttons to pick a digit on line 2 ( or end of line 1) and increase or decrease it ? Is there any super elegant code out there already to do that ?

While I'm about it, which is best to get started with - BS2 or BS2P ? BS2P is obviously (?) faster and has more code space and is easier to interface to lcds. On the other hand, my time critical code will only be about 4 or 5 lines looking for two HIGH inputs and then branching to a subroutine to actually control the delay, fire and recharge, the BS2 uses less power, most of my code will probably be the user interface hence the original question [noparse]:)[/noparse]

Thanks in advance for any suggestions, examples, etc.

Comments

• BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2004-12-29 04:39
    How quickly must the stamp act on the two HIGH inputs ?
  • AndrewCAndrewC Posts: 3
    edited 2004-12-29 04:51