Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
HP encoder to basic stamp??? — Parallax Forums

HP encoder to basic stamp???

David27David27 Posts: 4
edited 2005-01-25 20:19 in BASIC Stamp
I've got an HP rotary encoder tied to IN1 and IN2 of my homework board.· I read 1's and 0's on the A and B channels·when I rotate the shaft so I think it's working.
Does anyone have a simple code that will allow the count to increase per pulse read when I turn the shaft one direction, then decrease the count when I turn the shaft the other direction?· I'm still new to stamps and am having a tough time figuring it out.
Thanks!

Comments

• Dave PatonDave Paton Posts: 285
    edited 2004-12-13 15:18
    The encoder you have is called a Quadrature encoder. The direction is derrived from the relationship of the pulses. The way I've usually seen it done is with an XOR and some bitwise math involving the previous state and the current one. Attached is an image of the waveform relationship borrowed from a Grayhill datasheet. When spinning clockwise, A leads B by 90 degrees as noted. Whenever A goes from low to high, if B is low it's clockwise, and if·B is·high it's counterclockwise. If you write that in a nice tight loop, you can increment a counter variable whenever the rotation check statements come up true.

I've dont it myself a few times, but I don't have the code with me here. I'll see if I can post something tonight. In the meantime, Jon might have something to say too. I vaguely recall he's done some rotary encoder work...

-dave

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    This is not a sig. This is a duck. Quack.
    745 x 205 - 15K
    QE.gif 15.4K
  • Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2004-12-13 15:23