Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Generator speed control with BS2 — Parallax Forums

Generator speed control with BS2

ArslanArslan Posts: 1
edited 2004-12-11 16:45 in BASIC Stamp
I'm a ME student so don't know much about electronics. I'm designing an engine and will connect its output to a DC generator. But I want the generated voltage to be contant (i.e. constant speed for DC generator). I thought that I can control the generator speed by using a digital potentiometer connected to the output of generator and controlled by a BS2. The problem is that I don't know which potentiometer are suitable for BS2 (there ar bunch of digital pots in www.maxim-ic.com) and how the connections should be made. Anybody knows something about them?
Thanks.
Arslan

Comments

• dandreaedandreae Posts: 1,375
    edited 2004-12-09 17:43
    Hello,

In chapter 9 of the "What's a Microcontroller" we have an example using a AD5220.· I don't know what type of voltages that you are generating.· You may have to use the Motor Mind C for this project.· Here are a·couple of·links for the Motor Mind C and the "What's a Microcontroller":·

http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=30001

http://www.parallax.com/html_pages/downloads/siccurriculum/documentation_sic_curriculum.asp·.

Dave

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Dave Andreae

Tech Support
    dandreae@parallax.com
    www.parallax.com

·
  • stamptrolstamptrol Posts: 1,731
    edited 2004-12-11 01:38
    · Hi,

··· How big is your generator ( in Kw )? What are the nameplate ratings? The output voltage is controlled by varying the field voltage. Depending on the type of field control, you may need quite a high voltage at a few amps.

··· If you want to use a stamp, you'll probably be able to use the PWMOUT command to drive a transistor which in turn will apply the voltage to the field.