Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
4 inch seven segment display — Parallax Forums

4 inch seven segment display

BladerunnerBladerunner Posts: 25
edited 2004-11-30 19:19 in BASIC Stamp
I am new to this and have been trying to work with a large seven segment display that I purchased at Jameco (Part Number 105591 made by LIGITEK)
and am having no luck. I have been successful with following the projects in What’s a Microcontroller, Student Guide using a
small seven segment display from Parallax... I get power the segments light up etc.
But when I use the same Resistors – 1 k (brown-black-red) for the large seven segment display I get nothing...
Help...
Thank you

Comments

• allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2004-11-30 16:07
    You need to look at how much current the large seven-segment display needs. Typically, to make a large segment, you use multiple LED's in one segment. The result of this is what looks like a 'super' LED, but it takes lots of current (10 mA per LED). Your poor little BS2 can *only* source 20 mA per pin.

To drive the large segments, you'll probably need darlington transistor package (whose part number escapes me right now) and perhaps a larger power supply.

A 1K resistor is probably WAY too large. The result is the LED doesn't get enough current to light.
  • BladerunnerBladerunner Posts: 25
    edited 2004-11-30 16:27
    That makes sense thanks for the info but I am not sure how to set up the darlington transistor... I have used one before to control a stepper motor.
    Attached is the seven segment display info PDF

Thanks!!!
  • Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2004-11-30 16:42