Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Model Railroad Application — Parallax Forums

Model Railroad Application

BillHBillH Posts: 14
edited 2005-01-29 21:11 in BASIC Stamp
I've just purchased my first BS-2.· I hope to use it in a model railroad application.· Could someone give me some programming help?· I have extensive experience in building circuits but none in programming.· My railroad is built like a sound stage, 41 feet long, with a proscenium arch behind which are hidden 55 lights, seven speakers and 2 subwoffers.· I use a·diesel and a steam throttle, both of which have programmable sound effects.· The sound is attenuated by being directed to the overhead speakers through a set of seven pushbuttons attached to seven latching, 12 volt, 4PDT relays that draw 75ma.· The sound moves along with the train by pushing the buttons at the appropriate time.· It is a manual operation which I would like to automate using a BS-2.· I have installed an optical detection system which uses photo resistors mounted between the rails.· When a train shades a detector a commercially built comparator circuit provides a ground which can sink 250ma.· (If any of you are model railroaders, I use Sound Traxx throttles, and Circuitron DT-4 detectors.)· I have ordered a BS-2, a Super Carrier Board, and a ULN2803 Darlington array.· I would like to have the BS-2 perform as follows:· when a train shades the first detector the Stamp needs to see that and send a pulse to the first relay to energize and then ignore additional signals from that detector.· The problem is that there is a gap between each pair of cars that can allow light to cause the relays to chatter back and forth.· When the train shades the second relay the Stamp needs to signal the next relay to energize and so forth through all seven detectors and then loop back to the first detector and wait for the next train.· Also when power is initially turned on the Stamp·needs to energize the first relay.· Only one speaker relay is on a