Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
"Smart" navigation with BoeBot possible ? — Parallax Forums

"Smart" navigation with BoeBot possible ?

AbyssAbyss Posts: 8
edited 2004-11-07 23:47 in BASIC Stamp
I don't even know if my idea is possible with the BoeBot,that's why i submit it to you.I've done the remote control program and it works with an IR eye on PIN5.I have also made a small board with the 2 IR Led's and eyes for navigation.Both programs work when they are loaded independently.But would it be possible to have the robot controlled by remote to go forward for example and execute a turn or back up when it "sees" an obstacle like it does when it only navigates with the other 2 IR eyes ?
I am a newbie at programming the stamp,and i don't know if i'm not asking something that it might not even be doable.
Thank You.

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2004-11-06 01:52
    Sure it can be done; it just requires a bit of programming (the Boe-Bot would have to make take your commands, then make decisions on whether to use or not based on obstacle detection). Your idea is a good one -- so good that NASA is currently using it with the Mars rovers. Ground controllers send route commands to the rovers, but the rovers can override those commands based on what's actually in front of them on Mars. See, a bit more time with your Boe-Bot and you'll be headed for JPL!

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
    Dallas Office
  • edited 2004-11-06 04:02
    There is a very similar Project and Solution in IR Remote for the Boe-Bot, available for free download from

http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=70016

The project overrides the remote instruction if the Boe-Bot detects you are trying to run it into something.