Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
volts??? — Parallax Forums

volts???

KiddKidd Posts: 14
edited 2004-10-21 05:14 in BASIC Stamp
i just started learning about the basic stamp...i·have my basic stamp on·the breadboard with a L293D H-Bridge...but the 9 volt battery im using wont run my motor, by the time it goes through the L293D its only outputting 7.5 v. I have a battery from an old electric screwdriver that says its 3.6v and when i hook that up to the motor it moves really good. Why is the 3.6v battery more powerful than the 9v? Is it safe to hook·the 3.6v·battery up to the breadboard?·and how many volts can the L293D handle and for how long? thanks for the help.

Comments

• DonDon Posts: 34
    edited 2004-10-19 20:26
    Volts are only part of the story.· You also need to know amps - both the ability of your power source (battery, in this case) to supply·them and the amps demanded·by the load (in this case, mainly the motor).· My guess is that the motor requires too high a current for the puny 9V battery to supply.· The cordless driver battery has the ability to supply higher current, apparently more in line with what the motor draws.

The first step is to get electrical data on your motor.· Sometimes, the voltage and amperage are specified on the motor's nameplate.· If not, you'll have to do some research.· If that doesn't prove useful, you can get some empirical data by measuring the current drawn by the motor in both no-load and maximum load situation.

A run-of-the-mill alkaline 9V battery can provide perhaps 50 milliamps of current.· The capacity of these batteries is only about 500mAh meaning that at a 50mA draw, they will only last around 10 hours.· Also, the voltage drops as the battery's charge dwindles.· Likewise, its ability to provide current to a load drops as well.

It is highly likely that you are going to need a separate supply for the motor.· What size you need depends on what you find out about your motor.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔