Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
light sensor switch...good book for dummies? — Parallax Forums

light sensor switch...good book for dummies?

markmcleod50markmcleod50 Posts: 27
edited 2004-10-26 21:18 in General Discussion
I am new to electronics and am looking for something that could be used as a somewhat programmable light sensor switch. The parts must fit inside a small toy slot car. I am using two conductor tape to supply power to the cars tiny motor, 3 volts from a wall transformer. I would like to tap off of this power to run the light sensor amd headlights/music so as to not have to run more conductor tape/wire. The car will always travel along the track, but when its sunny, the car plays music, when its cloudy, the headlights turn on, never both at the same time but always one will be on. I don't know if their is a light sensor that can act as a switch or a grouping of parts I could make do what I want. I do have a basic stamp, but the size and powering it is an issue. It's important to have the light sensor, headlights, music to run off of the motors the same power as the motots and not a seperate battery inside the car.

What part or parts do I need for a light sensor switch?
What part might I need for a simple music recorder that would repeat the music over and over?
Any other parts I may need?
Any good books on electronics for dummies, like myself?

Thanks for all the help. Mark

Comments

• Jonny555Jonny555 Posts: 46
    edited 2004-10-19 20:09
    Everything you mention is pretty straightforward.

You need:

photocell
    capacitor
    a few resistors
    2 X Bright white LED
    Piezo speaker

Suitable 5V power: you can't use 3v for the basic stamp without boosting the voltage to 5v.

Build a light sensor(look in parallax website its there)
    Use DTMF to output tones to piezo.
    LED's are a joke.

This is a 30 minute project.· Will the BS2 fit into a slot car?

Jon

Post Edited (Jonny555) : 10/19/2004 8:12:48 PM GMT