Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
512K E2Prom — Parallax Forums

512K E2Prom

ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
edited 2004-04-21 02:50 in General Discussion
Hello Stamp Programmers:

I need information on how to expand E2Prom on the BS2E.

I am looking for information on how to use 2 or more E2Prom in the Same
program without running other slots on the BS2E.

Using the I2c Buss I would like to switch to No. 2 E2Prom when the first
fills up in memory. I have used different addressing

on each EEprom . Also scaled logic to switch to the second EEprom when
the first filled up it's memory.

Used pull up resistors on each EEprom. I have been unable to get this to
work properly. The only way I can utilize the second

EEprom is switch to slot 1 on the BS2E using the same program in slot 1.
In other words what I am trying to do is make 2

512K EEproms look like 1-Meg memory configuration. I would appreciate
any help you can give me.

Sincerely.

Harry.

Comments

  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2004-04-19 23:08
    In a message dated 4/19/2004 5:53:37 PM Eastern Daylight Time, HR518@J...
    writes:


    > I need information on how to expand E2Prom on the BS2E.
    >
    > I am looking for information on how to use 2 or more E2Prom in the Same
    > program without running other slots on the BS2E

    You can use several EEPROMs just by changing the CS pin.
    >
    >
    > Using the I2c Buss I would like to switch to No. 2 E2Prom when the first
    > fills up in memory. I have used different addressing

    You can not run I2C on a BS2E without a lot of additional programming. The
    BS2E does not support the I2C command - only the BS2P family does.

    Take a look the EEPROM on our site.


    Sid Weaver
    We're always thinking.....
    http://www.visualmuses.com/chipcircuit/index.html





    [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2004-04-20 13:58
    While you can add EEPROM for DATA storage, you
    can't add it for additional CODE storage.
    The PBasic runtime is really designed for a
    2K eeprom. They've expanded it with the
    multiple-bank technology -- but it's hard
    coded in the Parallax proprietary PIC
    code.

    Having said that, you CAN use an external
    I2C EEPROM with the BS2P for DATA storage
    -- which is what it sounds like what you
    want to do anyway.

    --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, Harry Rollins <HR518@J...> wrote:
    > Hello Stamp Programmers:
    >
    > I need information on how to expand E2Prom on the BS2E.
    >
    > I am looking for information on how to use 2 or more E2Prom in the
    Same
    > program without running other slots on the BS2E.
    >
    > Using the I2c Buss I would like to switch to No. 2 E2Prom when the
    first
    > fills up in memory. I have used different addressing
    >
    > on each EEprom . Also scaled logic to switch to the second EEprom
    when
    > the first filled up it's memory.
    >
    > Used pull up resistors on each EEprom. I have been unable to get
    this to
    > work properly. The only way I can utilize the second
    >
    > EEprom is switch to slot 1 on the BS2E using the same program in
    slot 1.
    > In other words what I am trying to do is make 2
    >
    > 512K EEproms look like 1-Meg memory configuration. I would
    appreciate
    > any help you can give me.
    >
    > Sincerely.
    >
    > Harry.
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2004-04-20 16:46
    --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, Newzed@a... wrote:
    > In a message dated 4/19/2004 5:53:37 PM Eastern Daylight Time,
    HR518@J...
    > writes:
    >
    >
    > > I need information on how to expand E2Prom on the BS2E.
    > >
    > > I am looking for information on how to use 2 or more E2Prom in
    the Same
    > > program without running other slots on the BS2E
    >

    Here is the big clue.


    > You can use several EEPROMs just by changing the CS pin.


    Since the I2C can address any chip on the line with a unique address,
    all you need to do is to change the address for the 2 (or more)
    EEPROMs and re-set you data storage addresses in software to start at
    the beginning of the second chip.

    Dave


    >
    >
    > Sid Weaver
    > We're always thinking.....
    > http://www.visualmuses.com/chipcircuit/index.html
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2004-04-20 17:16
    --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, "Allan Lane" <allan.lane@h...>
    wrote:
    > While you can add EEPROM for DATA storage, you
    > can't add it for additional CODE storage.
    > The PBasic runtime is really designed for a
    > 2K eeprom. They've expanded it with the
    > multiple-bank technology -- but it's hard
    > coded in the Parallax proprietary PIC
    > code.
    >
    > Having said that, you CAN use an external
    > I2C EEPROM with the BS2P for DATA storage
    > -- which is what it sounds like what you
    > want to do anyway.


    I think I missed something....

    The origional poster said BS2E chip.
    I didn't think the BS2E can use I2c.

    The BS2P can and may be the chip needed to get this project done they
    way he wants.

    Comments ?








    >
    > --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, Harry Rollins <HR518@J...>
    wrote:
    > > Hello Stamp Programmers:
    > >
    > > I need information on how to expand E2Prom on the BS2E.
    > >
    > > I am looking for information on how to use 2 or more E2Prom in
    the
    > Same
    > > program without running other slots on the BS2E.
    > >
    > > Using the I2c Buss I would like to switch to No. 2 E2Prom when
    the
    > first
    > > fills up in memory. I have used different addressing
    > >
    > > on each EEprom . Also scaled logic to switch to the second EEprom
    > when
    > > the first filled up it's memory.
    > >
    > > Used pull up resistors on each EEprom. I have been unable to get
    > this to
    > > work properly. The only way I can utilize the second
    > >
    > > EEprom is switch to slot 1 on the BS2E using the same program in
    > slot 1.
    > > In other words what I am trying to do is make 2
    > >
    > > 512K EEproms look like 1-Meg memory configuration. I would
    > appreciate
    > > any help you can give me.
    > >
    > > Sincerely.
    > >
    > > Harry.
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2004-04-21 02:50
    You can do I2C on any stamp, just in some its native and in others you have
    to use your own sub to bit-bang. There are a few examples kicking around out
    there somewhere. I did it on my BS2.


    >
    Original Message
    > From: Dave Mucha [noparse]/noparse]mailto:[url=http://forums.parallaxinc.com/group/basicstamps/post?postID=6YXk1s83bi0Hf1_hb1b2wGQ7_0K9xqDotIwvJBBD06qzPeWXxp_Irp39jq03P5C6JNp-dJJNNJF2jg6FfA]davemucha@j...[/url
    > Sent: April 20, 2004 9:17 AM
    > To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    > Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Re: 512K E2Prom
    >
    > > I think I missed something....
    >
    > The origional poster said BS2E chip.
    > I didn't think the BS2E can use I2c.
    >
    > The BS2P can and may be the chip needed to get this project done they
    > way he wants.
    >
    > Comments ?
Sign In or Register to comment.