Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Connecting BS2 to HyperTerminal — Parallax Forums

Connecting BS2 to HyperTerminal

ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
edited 2003-11-18 15:01 in General Discussion
Does anyone know how to connect BS2 to HyperTerminal?

I want the BS2 which is collecting data to just send out data to
HyperTerminal periodically (every 1 sec.).

But I don't want to use pin0 to pin15, which are used up.

Comments

  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-11-18 13:04
    Hi,

    You need to use the DEBUG command. It is a special case of the SEROUT
    instruction which uses the programming connector of the BS2 at 9600 baud.
    The manual explains how to use it. Good luck.

    Best regards,

    Russell Warburton
    email: russell@w...
    website: http://www.warburtech.com
    telephone: +44 (0)7814 044 754
    Original Message
    From: "yellowniter" <yellowniter@y...>
    To: <basicstamps@yahoogroups.com>
    Sent: Tuesday, November 18, 2003 12:49 PM
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Connecting BS2 to HyperTerminal


    > Does anyone know how to connect BS2 to HyperTerminal?
    >
    > I want the BS2 which is collecting data to just send out data to
    > HyperTerminal periodically (every 1 sec.).
    >
    > But I don't want to use pin0 to pin15, which are used up.
    >
    >
    >
    >
    > To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    > from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    Body of the message will be ignored.
    >
    >
    > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
    >
    >
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-11-18 13:18
    you can use the programming port SIN/SOUT (SOUT only in this case).
    These are referenced by PBASIC both as pin 16.
    Note that the stamp replies any byte it receives through SIN, this
    is a side effect of the line driver hardware. As long as you just
    receive data from the stamp, this should not affect you.

    regards
    adrian
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-11-18 13:39
    You can do a SEROUT on pin 16 which is the programming port. Or ...
    just use DEBUG and set Hyperterminal to 9600 baud.

    -- Jon Williams
    -- Applications Engineer, Parallax
    -- Dallas Office


    Original Message
    From: yellowniter [noparse]/noparse]mailto:[url=http://forums.parallaxinc.com/group/basicstamps/post?postID=DFyJ7eFGiqvXKr1D4LlIpBje169MZ_cWBJfcuBtkMk3gXDfly2ebEJ27zXMKB9sT0dxkkxdfI-QN9NJzy1h_]yellowniter@y...[/url
    Sent: Tuesday, November 18, 2003 6:49 AM
    To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Connecting BS2 to HyperTerminal


    Does anyone know how to connect BS2 to HyperTerminal?

    I want the BS2 which is collecting data to just send out data to
    HyperTerminal periodically (every 1 sec.).

    But I don't want to use pin0 to pin15, which are used up.




    To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject
    and Body of the message will be ignored.


    Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to
    http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/




    This message has been scanned by WebShield. Please report SPAM to
    abuse@p....
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-11-18 14:59
    Yup, serout on 16 goes to the built-in DB-9 port.

    Thus:

    MyData VAR Word
    MyBaud CON 84 + 16384 ' 9600 Baud, + Inverted
    ' See the manual under SEROUT for baud rate values

    MyData = 1200 ' 1200, or whatever the data is...
    MAIN:
    ' Read value into 'MyData' here...
    SEROUT 16, MyBaud, [noparse][[/noparse]MyData, 13] ' ,13 for LineFeed
    Pause 1000 ' Pause in mSec.
    GOTO MAIN



    --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, "yellowniter" <yellowniter@y...>
    wrote:
    > Does anyone know how to connect BS2 to HyperTerminal?
    >
    > I want the BS2 which is collecting data to just send out data to
    > HyperTerminal periodically (every 1 sec.).
    >
    > But I don't want to use pin0 to pin15, which are used up.
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-11-18 15:01
    I should have added:
    If you are using the BOE, Hyperterm will be no
    problem. If you have built your own board,
    you must either disconnect the DTR line, or
    insure a pair of .1 uF decoupling capacitors
    are on the line, OR, insure DTR is inactive.

    The reason is the BS2 uses DTR as a reset
    signal when it is active -- and Hyperterm
    will hold your BS2 in reset without these
    work-arounds.

    --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, "yellowniter" <yellowniter@y...>
    wrote:
    > Does anyone know how to connect BS2 to HyperTerminal?
    >
    > I want the BS2 which is collecting data to just send out data to
    > HyperTerminal periodically (every 1 sec.).
    >
    > But I don't want to use pin0 to pin15, which are used up.
Sign In or Register to comment.