Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Hurtin input — Parallax Forums

Hurtin input

ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
edited 2003-10-09 16:26 in General Discussion
Hi guys,

I'm in a bit of a pickle.

A few months ago I came up with a cool little project to replace one of our
old wind displays (can't get parts for old one any more).

I had it output to an LCD and it was great. Might not have been
accurate...but baby steps right?!

Well, it's 3 or 4 months later and I told my boss about it. He wanted to
see it....so I decided to get things hooked up and testing before he came
down. Well....crud!! It wouldn't accept any data any more.

The equipment we are using runs off of Current Loop. No problem! I have a
Current Loop to RS232 converter.
I hook that up and pick off the signal from Rx and plug push it through a
22k resistor and then into my Stamps' input.

Well, I can't seem to get ANY serial data in...at least not reliably.
So my question is....:
...as the manuals says that the 22k res is there to limit current and that
there are clamping diodes on board....
If the diodes got zapped, what would I expect to see as far as a voltage on
my Rx pin? If the diodes were shorted (to ground??) I'm guessing that when
I go to measure Rx I won't see anything....

NOW....if I move to a different Stamp Input....will the same thing happen?
Are these clamping diodes on the I/O buss?

I'm not entirely sure how it might have happened....but there were lots of
wires bobbing around (short?).

Next question...being that I've had my head elsewhere and not on my STAMP
(yes sorry...sacriledge!), what's the easiest way to view serial data if you
aren't sure what 'type' of data it is?

Sometimes I'm thinking that I'm just not syncing up to the stream (300e71 ==
11505)
I had it working before (hopefully I didn't kill whatever code I had it
working under), but how would I know if it was INVERTED RS232??? Been
reading that but don't quite understand when I'd use it!!



Here's the code below (trimmed):

'{$STAMP BS2}

NNNN var word
EEEE var word
TT var byte

serin 0, 11505, [noparse][[/noparse]wait (2), shex4 NNNN, skip 1, shex4 EEEE, skip 1, hex2 TT]

Comments

  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-10-09 15:55
    Hey guys, sorry for the previous LONG post.

    I guess I'll start small. (baby steps??)

    When you guys read rs232 data to your Stamps. What pins do you 'always'
    use? Rx is the obvious one for half duplex. What else would you use in
    half dup.?

    I had a problem receiving rs232 data and couldn't get a voltage reading when
    using the Stamp ED.Boards ground plane to the Rx pin. BUT, I do recall
    using pin 7 (sig GND) against Rx and I was getting voltage readings.

    SO....would I connect Sig GND to Vdd (Stamp GND) to make one ground plane?

    I might be getting some nasty 60Hz in there somewhere.

    sb

    Original Message
    From: Brady,Steven [noparse]/noparse]PYR] [noparse][[/noparse]mailto:[url=http://forums.parallaxinc.com/group/basicstamps/post?postID=S0X-K42REjd6718SXK_rYjw0uxxKm_6NZMpL5vYZgytVNxw_0YWwCITEVoPTAIUrhi8lW9fvjX7QZYF_3LI]steven.brady2@e...[/url
    Sent: October 8, 2003 20:55
    To: 'basicstamps@yahoogroups.com'
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Hurtin input


    Hi guys,

    I'm in a bit of a pickle.

    A few months ago I came up with a cool little project to replace one of our
    old wind displays (can't get parts for old one any more).

    I had it output to an LCD and it was great. Might not have been
    accurate...but baby steps right?!

    Well, it's 3 or 4 months later and I told my boss about it. He wanted to
    see it....so I decided to get things hooked up and testing before he came
    down. Well....crud!! It wouldn't accept any data any more.

    The equipment we are using runs off of Current Loop. No problem! I have a
    Current Loop to RS232 converter. I hook that up and pick off the signal from
    Rx and plug push it through a 22k resistor and then into my Stamps' input.

    Well, I can't seem to get ANY serial data in...at least not reliably. So my
    question is....: ...as the manuals says that the 22k res is there to limit
    current and that there are clamping diodes on board.... If the diodes got
    zapped, what would I expect to see as far as a voltage on my Rx pin? If the
    diodes were shorted (to ground??) I'm guessing that when I go to measure Rx
    I won't see anything....

    NOW....if I move to a different Stamp Input....will the same thing happen?
    Are these clamping diodes on the I/O buss?

    I'm not entirely sure how it might have happened....but there were lots of
    wires bobbing around (short?).

    Next question...being that I've had my head elsewhere and not on my STAMP
    (yes sorry...sacriledge!), what's the easiest way to view serial data if you
    aren't sure what 'type' of data it is?

    Sometimes I'm thinking that I'm just not syncing up to the stream (300e71 ==
    11505)
    I had it working before (hopefully I didn't kill whatever code I had it
    working under), but how would I know if it was INVERTED RS232??? Been
    reading that but don't quite understand when I'd use it!!



    Here's the code below (trimmed):

    '{$STAMP BS2}

    NNNN var word
    EEEE var word
    TT var byte

    serin 0, 11505, [noparse][[/noparse]wait (2), shex4 NNNN, skip 1, shex4 EEEE, skip 1, hex2 TT]

    To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    Body of the message will be ignored.


    Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-10-09 15:57
    Best way to output unknown input is as 'DEC' --

    SEROUT 16, 84+16384, [noparse][[/noparse]DEC UnkVal]

    This will convert 'UnkVal' into a human readable
    decimal number. If you just output 'UnkVal',
    if it is a 0, for instance, it will clear your
    terminal window.

    --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, "Brady,Steven [noparse][[/noparse]PYR]"
    <steven.brady2@e...> wrote:
    > Hi guys,
    >
    > I'm in a bit of a pickle.
    >
    > A few months ago I came up with a cool little project to replace
    one of our
    > old wind displays (can't get parts for old one any more).
    >
    > I had it output to an LCD and it was great. Might not have been
    > accurate...but baby steps right?!
    >
    > Well, it's 3 or 4 months later and I told my boss about it. He
    wanted to
    > see it....so I decided to get things hooked up and testing before
    he came
    > down. Well....crud!! It wouldn't accept any data any more.
    >
    > The equipment we are using runs off of Current Loop. No problem!
    I have a
    > Current Loop to RS232 converter.
    > I hook that up and pick off the signal from Rx and plug push it
    through a
    > 22k resistor and then into my Stamps' input.
    >
    > Well, I can't seem to get ANY serial data in...at least not
    reliably.
    > So my question is....:
    > ...as the manuals says that the 22k res is there to limit current
    and that
    > there are clamping diodes on board....
    > If the diodes got zapped, what would I expect to see as far as a
    voltage on
    > my Rx pin? If the diodes were shorted (to ground??) I'm guessing
    that when
    > I go to measure Rx I won't see anything....
    >
    > NOW....if I move to a different Stamp Input....will the same thing
    happen?
    > Are these clamping diodes on the I/O buss?
    >
    > I'm not entirely sure how it might have happened....but there were
    lots of
    > wires bobbing around (short?).
    >
    > Next question...being that I've had my head elsewhere and not on my
    STAMP
    > (yes sorry...sacriledge!), what's the easiest way to view serial
    data if you
    > aren't sure what 'type' of data it is?
    >
    > Sometimes I'm thinking that I'm just not syncing up to the stream
    (300e71 ==
    > 11505)
    > I had it working before (hopefully I didn't kill whatever code I
    had it
    > working under), but how would I know if it was INVERTED RS232???
    Been
    > reading that but don't quite understand when I'd use it!!
    >
    >
    >
    > Here's the code below (trimmed):
    >
    > '{$STAMP BS2}
    >
    > NNNN var word
    > EEEE var word
    > TT var byte
    >
    > serin 0, 11505, [noparse][[/noparse]wait (2), shex4 NNNN, skip 1, shex4 EEEE, skip 1,
    hex2 TT]
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-10-09 15:58
    Would it clear the debug window as well?

    Original Message
    From: Allan Lane [noparse]/noparse]mailto:[url=http://forums.parallaxinc.com/group/basicstamps/post?postID=ygPXp9s4R6naSa3KDqLLis0oIGb6t2ELN8-pJ5PPNBMEdJv-kBeyE6wbz26Xm1kPaiQVXyGbpX9lL6lLNgtaEmBZx974]allan.lane@h...[/url
    Sent: October 9, 2003 07:57
    To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Re: Hurtin input


    Best way to output unknown input is as 'DEC' --

    SEROUT 16, 84+16384, [noparse][[/noparse]DEC UnkVal]

    This will convert 'UnkVal' into a human readable
    decimal number. If you just output 'UnkVal',
    if it is a 0, for instance, it will clear your
    terminal window.

    --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, "Brady,Steven [noparse][[/noparse]PYR]"
    <steven.brady2@e...> wrote:
    > Hi guys,
    >
    > I'm in a bit of a pickle.
    >
    > A few months ago I came up with a cool little project to replace
    one of our
    > old wind displays (can't get parts for old one any more).
    >
    > I had it output to an LCD and it was great. Might not have been
    > accurate...but baby steps right?!
    >
    > Well, it's 3 or 4 months later and I told my boss about it. He
    wanted to
    > see it....so I decided to get things hooked up and testing before
    he came
    > down. Well....crud!! It wouldn't accept any data any more.
    >
    > The equipment we are using runs off of Current Loop. No problem!
    I have a
    > Current Loop to RS232 converter.
    > I hook that up and pick off the signal from Rx and plug push it
    through a
    > 22k resistor and then into my Stamps' input.
    >
    > Well, I can't seem to get ANY serial data in...at least not
    reliably.
    > So my question is....:
    > ...as the manuals says that the 22k res is there to limit current
    and that
    > there are clamping diodes on board....
    > If the diodes got zapped, what would I expect to see as far as a
    voltage on
    > my Rx pin? If the diodes were shorted (to ground??) I'm guessing
    that when
    > I go to measure Rx I won't see anything....
    >
    > NOW....if I move to a different Stamp Input....will the same thing
    happen?
    > Are these clamping diodes on the I/O buss?
    >
    > I'm not entirely sure how it might have happened....but there were
    lots of
    > wires bobbing around (short?).
    >
    > Next question...being that I've had my head elsewhere and not on my
    STAMP
    > (yes sorry...sacriledge!), what's the easiest way to view serial
    data if you
    > aren't sure what 'type' of data it is?
    >
    > Sometimes I'm thinking that I'm just not syncing up to the stream
    (300e71 ==
    > 11505)
    > I had it working before (hopefully I didn't kill whatever code I
    had it
    > working under), but how would I know if it was INVERTED RS232???
    Been
    > reading that but don't quite understand when I'd use it!!
    >
    >
    >
    > Here's the code below (trimmed):
    >
    > '{$STAMP BS2}
    >
    > NNNN var word
    > EEEE var word
    > TT var byte
    >
    > serin 0, 11505, [noparse][[/noparse]wait (2), shex4 NNNN, skip 1, shex4 EEEE, skip 1,
    hex2 TT]


    To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    Body of the message will be ignored.


    Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-10-09 16:00
    Yes, outputting a CHAR(0) to the debug window will
    clear it. Very annoying if it wasn't what
    you wanted to happen.

    --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, "Brady,Steven [noparse][[/noparse]PYR]"
    <steven.brady2@e...> wrote:
    > Would it clear the debug window as well?
    >
    >
    Original Message
    > From: Allan Lane [noparse][[/noparse]mailto:allan.lane@h...]
    > Sent: October 9, 2003 07:57
    > To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    > Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Re: Hurtin input
    >
    >
    > Best way to output unknown input is as 'DEC' --
    >
    > SEROUT 16, 84+16384, [noparse][[/noparse]DEC UnkVal]
    >
    > This will convert 'UnkVal' into a human readable
    > decimal number. If you just output 'UnkVal',
    > if it is a 0, for instance, it will clear your
    > terminal window.
    >
    > --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, "Brady,Steven [noparse][[/noparse]PYR]"
    > <steven.brady2@e...> wrote:
    > > Hi guys,
    > >
    > > I'm in a bit of a pickle.
    > >
    > > A few months ago I came up with a cool little project to replace
    > one of our
    > > old wind displays (can't get parts for old one any more).
    > >
    > > I had it output to an LCD and it was great. Might not have been
    > > accurate...but baby steps right?!
    > >
    > > Well, it's 3 or 4 months later and I told my boss about it. He
    > wanted to
    > > see it....so I decided to get things hooked up and testing before
    > he came
    > > down. Well....crud!! It wouldn't accept any data any more.
    > >
    > > The equipment we are using runs off of Current Loop. No problem!
    > I have a
    > > Current Loop to RS232 converter.
    > > I hook that up and pick off the signal from Rx and plug push it
    > through a
    > > 22k resistor and then into my Stamps' input.
    > >
    > > Well, I can't seem to get ANY serial data in...at least not
    > reliably.
    > > So my question is....:
    > > ...as the manuals says that the 22k res is there to limit current
    > and that
    > > there are clamping diodes on board....
    > > If the diodes got zapped, what would I expect to see as far as a
    > voltage on
    > > my Rx pin? If the diodes were shorted (to ground??) I'm guessing
    > that when
    > > I go to measure Rx I won't see anything....
    > >
    > > NOW....if I move to a different Stamp Input....will the same thing
    > happen?
    > > Are these clamping diodes on the I/O buss?
    > >
    > > I'm not entirely sure how it might have happened....but there were
    > lots of
    > > wires bobbing around (short?).
    > >
    > > Next question...being that I've had my head elsewhere and not on
    my
    > STAMP
    > > (yes sorry...sacriledge!), what's the easiest way to view serial
    > data if you
    > > aren't sure what 'type' of data it is?
    > >
    > > Sometimes I'm thinking that I'm just not syncing up to the stream
    > (300e71 ==
    > > 11505)
    > > I had it working before (hopefully I didn't kill whatever code I
    > had it
    > > working under), but how would I know if it was INVERTED RS232???
    > Been
    > > reading that but don't quite understand when I'd use it!!
    > >
    > >
    > >
    > > Here's the code below (trimmed):
    > >
    > > '{$STAMP BS2}
    > >
    > > NNNN var word
    > > EEEE var word
    > > TT var byte
    > >
    > > serin 0, 11505, [noparse][[/noparse]wait (2), shex4 NNNN, skip 1, shex4 EEEE, skip 1,
    > hex2 TT]
    >
    >
    > To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    > from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the
    Subject and
    > Body of the message will be ignored.
    >
    >
    > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to
    http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-10-09 16:26
    Just a reminder ... you can selectively enable DEBUG control codes from
    the Preferences dialog. This can be useful when debugging mysterious
    serial streams.

    -- Jon Williams
    -- Applications Engineer, Parallax
    -- Dallas Office


    Original Message
    From: Allan Lane [noparse]/noparse]mailto:[url=http://forums.parallaxinc.com/group/basicstamps/post?postID=r7lQTBWv3aXm7jQJF6Gh35A7vJHRTUuxo1ZImZUsdvcApcEBiHxENko8tj7DFkqR8OQ6TYP6frkPmgKWBPL3xiTl]allan.lane@h...[/url
    Sent: Thursday, October 09, 2003 10:00 AM
    To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Re: Hurtin input


    Yes, outputting a CHAR(0) to the debug window will
    clear it. Very annoying if it wasn't what
    you wanted to happen.

    --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, "Brady,Steven [noparse][[/noparse]PYR]"
    <steven.brady2@e...> wrote:
    > Would it clear the debug window as well?
    >
    >
    Original Message
    > From: Allan Lane [noparse][[/noparse]mailto:allan.lane@h...]
    > Sent: October 9, 2003 07:57
    > To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    > Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Re: Hurtin input
    >
    >
    > Best way to output unknown input is as 'DEC' --
    >
    > SEROUT 16, 84+16384, [noparse][[/noparse]DEC UnkVal]
    >
    > This will convert 'UnkVal' into a human readable
    > decimal number. If you just output 'UnkVal',
    > if it is a 0, for instance, it will clear your
    > terminal window.
    >
    > --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, "Brady,Steven [noparse][[/noparse]PYR]"
    > <steven.brady2@e...> wrote:
    > > Hi guys,
    > >
    > > I'm in a bit of a pickle.
    > >
    > > A few months ago I came up with a cool little project to replace
    > one of our
    > > old wind displays (can't get parts for old one any more).
    > >
    > > I had it output to an LCD and it was great. Might not have been
    > > accurate...but baby steps right?!
    > >
    > > Well, it's 3 or 4 months later and I told my boss about it. He
    > wanted to
    > > see it....so I decided to get things hooked up and testing before
    > he came
    > > down. Well....crud!! It wouldn't accept any data any more.
    > >
    > > The equipment we are using runs off of Current Loop. No problem!
    > I have a
    > > Current Loop to RS232 converter.
    > > I hook that up and pick off the signal from Rx and plug push it
    > through a
    > > 22k resistor and then into my Stamps' input.
    > >
    > > Well, I can't seem to get ANY serial data in...at least not
    > reliably.
    > > So my question is....:
    > > ...as the manuals says that the 22k res is there to limit current
    > and that
    > > there are clamping diodes on board....
    > > If the diodes got zapped, what would I expect to see as far as a
    > voltage on
    > > my Rx pin? If the diodes were shorted (to ground??) I'm guessing
    > that when
    > > I go to measure Rx I won't see anything....
    > >
    > > NOW....if I move to a different Stamp Input....will the same thing
    > happen?
    > > Are these clamping diodes on the I/O buss?
    > >
    > > I'm not entirely sure how it might have happened....but there were
    > lots of
    > > wires bobbing around (short?).
    > >
    > > Next question...being that I've had my head elsewhere and not on
    my
    > STAMP
    > > (yes sorry...sacriledge!), what's the easiest way to view serial
    > data if you
    > > aren't sure what 'type' of data it is?
    > >
    > > Sometimes I'm thinking that I'm just not syncing up to the stream
    > (300e71 ==
    > > 11505)
    > > I had it working before (hopefully I didn't kill whatever code I
    > had it
    > > working under), but how would I know if it was INVERTED RS232???
    > Been
    > > reading that but don't quite understand when I'd use it!!
    > >
    > >
    > >
    > > Here's the code below (trimmed):
    > >
    > > '{$STAMP BS2}
    > >
    > > NNNN var word
    > > EEEE var word
    > > TT var byte
    > >
    > > serin 0, 11505, [noparse][[/noparse]wait (2), shex4 NNNN, skip 1, shex4 EEEE, skip 1,
    > hex2 TT]
    >
    >
    > To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    > from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the
    Subject and
    > Body of the message will be ignored.
    >
    >
    > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to
    http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/


    To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject
    and Body of the message will be ignored.


    Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to
    http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/




    This message has been scanned by WebShield. Please report SPAM to
    abuse@p....
Sign In or Register to comment.