Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
newbie - replace 3 switches - 5 Volt; 0,1 mA — Parallax Forums

newbie - replace 3 switches - 5 Volt; 0,1 mA

ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
edited 2003-09-16 20:57 in General Discussion
Hello,


I want to replace 3 (A,B,C) handswitches with 2 switches (1,2); for
example a double click of switch1 will toggle switchB; a long click
on switch1 will activate switchA for as long as switch1 is active;...

________
| |
--Switch1-->
| |
| |--switchA->---
| BS2 |--switchB->---
| |--switchC->---
--Switch2-->
| |
|________|


How to connect the input switches to the BS2 is discribed in the
Basic Stamp manual; but how can I create the 3 SPST normaly open
output switches?

I found a schematic, where a pin of the BS2 controls a transistor,
which controls a relay (as the BS2 cannot provide enough current
for the relay).

I measured the tension and current of the socket where the
switches A, B, C will be connected to: 4.9 V and 0.1 mA for
each socket.


Could you please tell me precisely what transistor or relay to
use? Moreover, as I am a complete newbie in electronics could
you please tell me whether there is a more elegant way to
implement the 3 output switches? Maybe an IC? a Solid State
Relay? What IC?


Thanks in advance for your help.

Francesco Fumanti

Comments

  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-09-15 22:13
    A few questions for you first:

    Would there be any feedback device for the operator? (i.e. beeper, LED
    indicator?)

    Do the three discrete switches you have now need to stay in a postion or
    are they momentary?

    Is the goal of the circuit to reduce the amnount of wire between the
    switch and the device? Iis it to reduce the count of switch components
    thereby reducing cost? Is it to reduce operator error? Reduce operator
    training?

    Sometimes it is best to know the *goal* of the project (i.e. I will get a
    better response to a questions such as "How do I increase my car gas
    milage" instead of a question such as "how do I adjust the timing of my
    distributor?" since in the latter, you may have decided that adjusting
    the distributor is the only solution, thereby limiting what others may
    offer for advice on the *real* goal.)

    The answer to these questions would help in guiding my (and others)
    responses... [noparse]:)[/noparse]

    That being said, it would be possible to use two SPST switches to produce
    the output of three SPST switches using binary as such:

    S1 S2 S1 S2 S3
    0 0 = 0 0 0
    1 0 = 1 0 0
    0 1 = 0 1 0
    1 1 = 0 0 1

    Again, I have to work with assumptions that may not be correct in your
    circumstances (i.e. there are no "combo" positions of the three switches
    where more than one is closed at a time)

    [noparse]:)[/noparse]

    Vern

    --
    Vern Graner CNE/CNA/SSE | "If the network is down, then you're
    Senior Systems Engineer | obviously incompetent so why are we
    Texas Information Services | paying you? Of course, if the network
    http://www.txis.com | is up, then we obviously don't need
    Austin Office 512 328-8947 | you, so why are we paying you?" VLG




    Francesco Fumanti said:
    >
    > Hello,
    >
    >
    > I want to replace 3 (A,B,C) handswitches with 2 switches (1,2); for
    > example a double click of switch1 will toggle switchB; a long click
    > on switch1 will activate switchA for as long as switch1 is active;...
    >
    > ________
    > | |
    > --Switch1-->
    | |
    > | |--switchA->---
    > | BS2 |--switchB->---
    > | |--switchC->---
    > --Switch2-->
    | |
    > |________|
    >
    >
    > How to connect the input switches to the BS2 is discribed in the
    > Basic Stamp manual; but how can I create the 3 SPST normaly open
    > output switches?
    >
    > I found a schematic, where a pin of the BS2 controls a transistor,
    > which controls a relay (as the BS2 cannot provide enough current
    > for the relay).
    >
    > I measured the tension and current of the socket where the
    > switches A, B, C will be connected to: 4.9 V and 0.1 mA for
    > each socket.
    >
    >
    > Could you please tell me precisely what transistor or relay to
    > use? Moreover, as I am a complete newbie in electronics could
    > you please tell me whether there is a more elegant way to
    > implement the 3 output switches? Maybe an IC? a Solid State
    > Relay? What IC?
    >
    >
    > Thanks in advance for your help.
    >
    > Francesco Fumanti
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    > To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    > from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    > Body of the message will be ignored.
    >
    >
    > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
    >
    >
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-09-15 22:46
    Hi Francesco

    There are examples of coding the click, double click, and long click
    in chapter two of stampsinClass, Earth Measurements:
    http://www.emesystems.com/EarthM/em2.pdf

    The question of the output switches will depend a lot on how much
    isolation is required. That is, do all the swithes share the same
    power supply and the same ground, and can that ground be connected to
    the Stamp ground (Vss)? If so, a simple transistor or IC may well
    work as a SPST switch. However, if the circuits must be isolated
    from one another and from the Stamp, then you will need an
    optocoupler or an electromagnetic or solid state relay. 4.9 volts at
    100 ma is not much power, so there will be a solution either way.

    -- Tracy Allen


    >Hello,
    >
    >
    >I want to replace 3 (A,B,C) handswitches with 2 switches (1,2); for
    >example a double click of switch1 will toggle switchB; a long click
    >on switch1 will activate switchA for as long as switch1 is active;...
    >
    > ________
    > | |
    > --Switch1-->
    | |
    > | |--switchA->---
    > | BS2 |--switchB->---
    > | |--switchC->---
    > --Switch2-->
    | |
    > |________|
    >
    >
    >How to connect the input switches to the BS2 is discribed in the
    >Basic Stamp manual; but how can I create the 3 SPST normaly open
    >output switches?
    >
    >I found a schematic, where a pin of the BS2 controls a transistor,
    >which controls a relay (as the BS2 cannot provide enough current
    >for the relay).
    >
    >I measured the tension and current of the socket where the
    >switches A, B, C will be connected to: 4.9 V and 0.1 mA for
    >each socket.
    >
    >
    >Could you please tell me precisely what transistor or relay to
    >use? Moreover, as I am a complete newbie in electronics could
    >you please tell me whether there is a more elegant way to
    >implement the 3 output switches? Maybe an IC? a Solid State
    >Relay? What IC?
    >
    >
    >Thanks in advance for your help.
    >
    >Francesco Fumanti
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-09-16 12:46
    check out my web site for the information you need including transistors,
    resistor values, wiring, pcboard, etc. to control things with a stamp
    module.

    jim
    http://www.geocities.com/jimforkin2003/


    Original Message
    From: Francesco Fumanti [noparse]/noparse]mailto:[url=http://forums.parallaxinc.com/group/basicstamps/post?postID=80cKYA_h18IlDVc6RTi0MgmvdK6GlUpGFQEUD2ihXGyzn8VJIrK4GLtozuOu3zkrSqcgzBswheZddOH2b65hGQ]francesco.fumanti@g...[/url
    Sent: Monday, September 15, 2003 3:58 PM
    To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] newbie - replace 3 switches - 5 Volt; 0,1 mA



    Hello,


    I want to replace 3 (A,B,C) handswitches with 2 switches (1,2); for
    example a double click of switch1 will toggle switchB; a long click
    on switch1 will activate switchA for as long as switch1 is active;...

    ________
    | |
    --Switch1-->
    | |
    | |--switchA->---
    | BS2 |--switchB->---
    | |--switchC->---
    --Switch2-->
    | |
    |________|


    How to connect the input switches to the BS2 is discribed in the
    Basic Stamp manual; but how can I create the 3 SPST normaly open
    output switches?

    I found a schematic, where a pin of the BS2 controls a transistor,
    which controls a relay (as the BS2 cannot provide enough current
    for the relay).

    I measured the tension and current of the socket where the
    switches A, B, C will be connected to: 4.9 V and 0.1 mA for
    each socket.


    Could you please tell me precisely what transistor or relay to
    use? Moreover, as I am a complete newbie in electronics could
    you please tell me whether there is a more elegant way to
    implement the 3 output switches? Maybe an IC? a Solid State
    Relay? What IC?


    Thanks in advance for your help.

    Francesco Fumanti





    To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    Body of the message will be ignored.


    Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-09-16 20:57
    Hello,

    The two circuits must indeed be isolated from one another.

    Thanks for your suggestions. I will look into it.

    Have a nice day.

    Francesco


    --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, Tracy Allen <tracy@e...> wrote:
    > Hi Francesco
    >
    > There are examples of coding the click, double click, and long click
    > in chapter two of stampsinClass, Earth Measurements:
    > http://www.emesystems.com/EarthM/em2.pdf
    >
    > The question of the output switches will depend a lot on how much
    > isolation is required. That is, do all the swithes share the same
    > power supply and the same ground, and can that ground be connected to
    > the Stamp ground (Vss)? If so, a simple transistor or IC may well
    > work as a SPST switch. However, if the circuits must be isolated
    > from one another and from the Stamp, then you will need an
    > optocoupler or an electromagnetic or solid state relay. 4.9 volts at
    > 100 ma is not much power, so there will be a solution either way.
    >
    > -- Tracy Allen
    >
    >
    > >Hello,
    > >
    > >
    > >I want to replace 3 (A,B,C) handswitches with 2 switches (1,2); for
    > >example a double click of switch1 will toggle switchB; a long click
    > >on switch1 will activate switchA for as long as switch1 is active;...
    > >
    > > ________
    > > | |
    > > --Switch1-->
    | |
    > > | |--switchA->---
    > > | BS2 |--switchB->---
    > > | |--switchC->---
    > > --Switch2-->
    | |
    > > |________|
    > >
    > >
    > >How to connect the input switches to the BS2 is discribed in the
    > >Basic Stamp manual; but how can I create the 3 SPST normaly open
    > >output switches?
    > >
    > >I found a schematic, where a pin of the BS2 controls a transistor,
    > >which controls a relay (as the BS2 cannot provide enough current
    > >for the relay).
    > >
    > >I measured the tension and current of the socket where the
    > >switches A, B, C will be connected to: 4.9 V and 0.1 mA for
    > >each socket.
    > >
    > >
    > >Could you please tell me precisely what transistor or relay to
    > >use? Moreover, as I am a complete newbie in electronics could
    > >you please tell me whether there is a more elegant way to
    > >implement the 3 output switches? Maybe an IC? a Solid State
    > >Relay? What IC?
    > >
    > >
    > >Thanks in advance for your help.
    > >
    > >Francesco Fumanti
Sign In or Register to comment.