making a servo move
Archiver
Posts: 46,084
I have a servo on pin 0 of my boe. when I send it pulsout 0, 150 it
goes alll the way to one side. changing the pulse width value doesn't
make it go the other way. what am I doing wrong? how can I make the
servo go back and fourth? I need help because I'm building a
quadrapod. I think I could figure it out if I just had a "nudge" to
get started... I have a servo on pin 0 and it is powered by a
seperate 4.8vdc supply. any help would be greatly appreciated!!!
thanks!
casey
stamp newbie
goes alll the way to one side. changing the pulse width value doesn't
make it go the other way. what am I doing wrong? how can I make the
servo go back and fourth? I need help because I'm building a
quadrapod. I think I could figure it out if I just had a "nudge" to
get started... I have a servo on pin 0 and it is powered by a
seperate 4.8vdc supply. any help would be greatly appreciated!!!
thanks!
casey
stamp newbie
Comments
Here is what you need; first the pulsout command requires three things
Pin, Length and Pulse width. When controlling the servo I use a
For...Next statement that is like this
For reps = 0 to 9
Pulsout 0, 1000,150
Pause 20 'Needed by the servo controller board *may vary on
'Diff servos*
Next
This repetition is needed because that is how the servo controller board
works, It is constantly receiving information in pulses with a 20ms
pause between commands.
For more help email me off list.
-Mike
Original Message
From: Casey Holmes [noparse]/noparse]mailto:[url=http://forums.parallaxinc.com/group/basicstamps/post?postID=kIQ7rKxeKobMV-jruKzoyc3djd8nkcBVQE_ZSa-9INTDpYqlSZi0kYYm_O1HnObV9yChR5Hn1pWVu_zngA]caseyjholmes@y...[/url
Sent: Wednesday, May 14, 2003 8:35 PM
To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] making a servo move
I have a servo on pin 0 of my boe. when I send it pulsout 0, 150 it
goes alll the way to one side. changing the pulse width value doesn't
make it go the other way. what am I doing wrong? how can I make the
servo go back and fourth? I need help because I'm building a
quadrapod. I think I could figure it out if I just had a "nudge" to
get started... I have a servo on pin 0 and it is powered by a
seperate 4.8vdc supply. any help would be greatly appreciated!!!
thanks!
casey
stamp newbie
To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject
and Body of the message will be ignored.
Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to
http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
There is only the pin and the duration of the pulse. Remember that the
pulsout command is doubled so you 150 is actually 350 so that is
probably your problem, you just have to find your middle setting on you
servo.
-Mike
Original Message
From: Mike Dillon [noparse]/noparse]mailto:[url=http://forums.parallaxinc.com/group/basicstamps/post?postID=Y8saaysfEF9x-HMr6qIMOZ3mlcmQTKpe7PG9Dtqvk2pqCa0xYsu6zQAKQ27TQDG8fHKEyzhp7qqBpUqk6iEK]laxboy687@e...[/url
Sent: Thursday, May 15, 2003 10:08 PM
To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
Subject: RE: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] making a servo move
Hey Casey,
Here is what you need; first the pulsout command requires three things
Pin, Length and Pulse width. When controlling the servo I use a
For...Next statement that is like this
For reps = 0 to 9
Pulsout 0, 1000,150
Pause 20 'Needed by the servo controller board *may vary on
'Diff servos*
Next
This repetition is needed because that is how the servo controller board
works, It is constantly receiving information in pulses with a 20ms
pause between commands.
For more help email me off list.
-Mike
Original Message
From: Casey Holmes [noparse]/noparse]mailto:[url=http://forums.parallaxinc.com/group/basicstamps/post?postID=HntcpoLUBA_h7LVuu3UjOzKfgdU9xS8Zpo4N7esb4ByXcovKZ-TMZ7WHjhLwk2qy9EJOAPdmVmXjV_hl]caseyjholmes@y...[/url
Sent: Wednesday, May 14, 2003 8:35 PM
To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] making a servo move
I have a servo on pin 0 of my boe. when I send it pulsout 0, 150 it
goes alll the way to one side. changing the pulse width value doesn't
make it go the other way. what am I doing wrong? how can I make the
servo go back and fourth? I need help because I'm building a
quadrapod. I think I could figure it out if I just had a "nudge" to
get started... I have a servo on pin 0 and it is powered by a
seperate 4.8vdc supply. any help would be greatly appreciated!!!
thanks!
casey
stamp newbie
To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject
and Body of the message will be ignored.
Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to
http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject
and Body of the message will be ignored.
Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to
http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
power supply. Same results, too - the servo would drive all the way
to one side.
The answer was to tie the ground for the servo and the ground for the
BS2 together. Worked like a charm after that.
Good luck!
--- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, "Casey Holmes" <caseyjholmes@y...>
wrote:
> I have a servo on pin 0 of my boe. when I send it pulsout 0, 150 it
> goes alll the way to one side. changing the pulse width value doesn't
> make it go the other way. what am I doing wrong? how can I make the
> servo go back and fourth? I need help because I'm building a
> quadrapod. I think I could figure it out if I just had a "nudge" to
> get started... I have a servo on pin 0 and it is powered by a
> seperate 4.8vdc supply. any help would be greatly appreciated!!!
> thanks!
> casey
stamp newbie