Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Measuring Voltage — Parallax Forums

Measuring Voltage

ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
edited 2003-02-16 18:46 in General Discussion
Hello,

Im looking for a way to measure voltage with the stamp. The sensor I
need to read has a 5 volt DC input, and it varies the output as the
pressure changes. I need to accurately measure this voltage in a very
timely manner within my circuit.

Does anyone know how this might be done?

Thank you,

Bill

Comments

  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-02-16 16:51
    With the BASIC Stamp you can use an analog-to-digital convertor. You didn't
    define "accurate" so I'll suggest a couple: the ADC0831, 8-bit ADC
    (resolution is 19.6 mV) or the LTC1298, a 12-bit ADC (resolution of 1.2 mV).


    Of course, there are many others. These two get used frequently in BASIC
    Stamp projects and there is plenty of example code available.

    -- Jon Williams
    -- Parallax

    In a message dated 2/16/2003 9:38:48 AM Central Standard Time,
    billak@f... writes:

    > Hello,
    >
    > Im looking for a way to measure voltage with the stamp. The sensor I
    > need to read has a 5 volt DC input, and it varies the output as the
    > pressure changes. I need to accurately measure this voltage in a very
    > timely manner within my circuit.
    >
    > Does anyone know how this might be done?
    >
    > Thank you,
    >
    > Bill
    >



    [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-02-16 17:03
    In a message dated 2/16/2003 7:38:47 AM Pacific Standard Time,
    billak@f... writes:

    > Hello,
    >
    > Im looking for a way to measure voltage with the stamp. The sensor I
    > need to read has a 5 volt DC input, and it varies the output as the
    > pressure changes. I need to accurately measure this voltage in a very
    > timely manner within my circuit.
    >
    > Does anyone know how this might be done?
    >
    > Thank you,
    >

    Bill,
    What kind of pressure sensor did you end up getting?


    [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-02-16 17:14
    Analog to Digital chip. The big questions are what pressure range do you
    have over that 5 volts and what accuracy you want from it.

    Lets say you're measuring 0 to 120 PSIG (0=0mV 120=5000mV). And 8 bit ADC
    will give you 256 steps across 5 volts or 5000/256= 19.53125mV per step
    which corresponds to 120/256=0.46875 PSI/step

    If you go with a 12 bit ADC then its 4096 steps
    5000/4096=1.220703125 mV/step
    120/4096=0.029296875 psi/step

    Some 12bit ADCs will also let you choose 10 bit mode if you don't need 12
    bits but find 8 bit too coarse.

    My 'lectronic Newb site http://members.shaw.ca/pmeloy/
    Original Message
    From: <billak@f...>
    To: <basicstamps@yahoogroups.com>
    Sent: Sunday, February 16, 2003 7:37 AM
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Measuring Voltage


    > Hello,
    >
    > Im looking for a way to measure voltage with the stamp. The sensor I
    > need to read has a 5 volt DC input, and it varies the output as the
    > pressure changes. I need to accurately measure this voltage in a very
    > timely manner within my circuit.
    >
    > Does anyone know how this might be done?
    >
    > Thank you,
    >
    > Bill
    >
    >
    >
    > To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    > from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    Body of the message will be ignored.
    >
    >
    > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
    >
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-02-16 17:25
    There are a wide array of A/D converters that you can use with the Stamp -
    Jon has mentioned a couple.

    But before selecting one, you need to know a few things. What is the OUTPUT
    from the pressure sensor over the range of pressure you are interested in?
    (This will determine whether you need to amplify the output using an op
    amp, and by how much) What is the smallest DIFFERENCE in pressures that
    you need to be able to resolve? (This will determine the resolution - the
    number of bits - needed in an A/D converter). What ACCURACY do you need?
    How often do you need to take the readings?

    Analog Devices has some sigma-delta converts with built-in amplifiers -
    some are designed for pressure sensors specifically. They are relatively
    cheap, and could make your life a lot easier.

    Larry

    At 03:37 PM 2/16/2003 +0000, you wrote:
    >Hello,
    >
    >Im looking for a way to measure voltage with the stamp. The sensor I
    >need to read has a 5 volt DC input, and it varies the output as the
    >pressure changes. I need to accurately measure this voltage in a very
    >timely manner within my circuit.
    >
    >Does anyone know how this might be done?
    >
    >Thank you,
    >
    >Bill
    >
    >
    >
    >To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    >from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    >Body of the message will be ignored.
    >
    >
    >Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/

    Larry Bradley
    Orleans (Ottawa), Ontario, CANADA
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-02-16 18:46
    I'm not the guy who was looking for a pressure sensor recently...I'm
    just using a Chevy MAP Sensor from an 88 Celebrity for my EFI
    Project.


    Bill


    --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, smartdim@a... wrote:
    > In a message dated 2/16/2003 7:38:47 AM Pacific Standard Time,
    > billak@f... writes:
    >
    > > Hello,
    > >
    > > Im looking for a way to measure voltage with the stamp. The
    sensor I
    > > need to read has a 5 volt DC input, and it varies the output as
    the
    > > pressure changes. I need to accurately measure this voltage in a
    very
    > > timely manner within my circuit.
    > >
    > > Does anyone know how this might be done?
    > >
    > > Thank you,
    > >
    >
    > Bill,
    > What kind of pressure sensor did you end up getting?
    >
    >
    > [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
Sign In or Register to comment.