Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
SumoBot — Parallax Forums

SumoBot

ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
edited 2002-10-27 14:18 in General Discussion
Greetings All!

I'm at my wits end! I just received two sumobots, I have put them
together, sans the missing cables, but I cannot get the servos to
turn. The simple program makes them buzz but that is all.

What is missing?

Any and all suggestions are welcome!

I tested the servos on an old boe bot and they work.

Chris

Comments

  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-10-26 23:26
    "What is missing?"

    The program??

    Mike B.

    Original Message
    From: "cnbnichols" <cnbnichols@r...>
    To: <basicstamps@yahoogroups.com>
    Sent: Saturday, October 26, 2002 3:11 PM
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] SumoBot


    > Greetings All!
    >
    > I'm at my wits end! I just received two sumobots, I have put them
    > together, sans the missing cables, but I cannot get the servos to
    > turn. The simple program makes them buzz but that is all.
    >
    > What is missing?
    >
    > Any and all suggestions are welcome!
    >
    > I tested the servos on an old boe bot and they work.
    >
    > Chris
    >
    >
    >
    > To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    > from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    Body of the message will be ignored.
    >
    >
    > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
    >
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-10-26 23:34
    Might try the servos on the other sumo bot with the same code. Could be a
    board problem.

    Are the batteries weak? Could be the Stamp is resetting when you try to run
    them. If the board has a beeper or LED on it, modify the code to flash the
    LED or beep when the program first starts up. If it keeps doing this over
    and over the Stamp is resetting.

    Original Message

    > I'm at my wits end! I just received two sumobots, I have put them
    > together, sans the missing cables, but I cannot get the servos to
    > turn. The simple program makes them buzz but that is all.
    >
    > What is missing?
    >
    > Any and all suggestions are welcome!
    >
    > I tested the servos on an old boe bot and they work.
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-10-27 00:30
    Chris:

    I wrote the SumoBot text and it was tested by several employees, so I'm
    pretty sure that part is good.

    * Are you plugging the servos into write place and orientation?
    -- I've plugged them in backwards myself
    -- the black wire goes towared the outside edge of the PCB
    * Are your batteries okay?
    * Did you make any changes to the demo code that would affect the servos?

    -- Jon Williams
    -- Parallax

    In a message dated 10/26/02 5:12:38 PM Central Daylight Time,
    cnbnichols@r... writes:


    > Greetings All!
    >
    > I'm at my wits end! I just received two sumobots, I have put them
    > together, sans the missing cables, but I cannot get the servos to
    > turn. The simple program makes them buzz but that is all.
    >
    > What is missing?
    >
    > Any and all suggestions are welcome!
    >
    > I tested the servos on an old boe bot and they work.
    >
    > Chris
    >




    [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-10-27 00:32
    One other thought... are you moving the power switch to position 2? Position
    1 only powers the Stamp.

    -- Jon Williams
    -- Parallax

    In a message dated 10/26/02 5:12:38 PM Central Daylight Time,
    cnbnichols@r... writes:


    > Greetings All!
    >
    > I'm at my wits end! I just received two sumobots, I have put them
    > together, sans the missing cables, but I cannot get the servos to
    > turn. The simple program makes them buzz but that is all.
    >
    > What is missing?
    >
    > Any and all suggestions are welcome!
    >
    > I tested the servos on an old boe bot and they work.
    >
    > Chris
    >




    [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-10-27 11:58
    I have two bots, both with fresh batteries, I get 6.+ vdc at the
    terminals on both. When I run the following code I get nothing on
    both. I confirmed that the black wire is out.

    I did get the servos to run on another board with the same code, but
    they did not run correctly. That is, the both ran in opposite
    directions no matter what the pulse width was for each, at certain
    pulse widths they just buzzed.


    Here is the code cut and pasted from the editor:

    '
    [noparse][[/noparse]Title]
    ' Mini-Sumo 2.1 : SumoBot Motor Test
    '{$STAMP BS2}

    '
    [noparse][[/noparse]I/O Definitions]

    LMotor CON 13 ' Left servo motor
    RMotor CON 12 ' Right servo motor

    '
    [noparse][[/noparse]Constants]

    LFwdFast CON 1000
    LFwdSlow CON 800
    LStop CON 750
    LRevSlow CON 700
    LRevFast CON 500

    RFwdFast CON 500
    RFwdSlow CON 700
    RStop CON 750
    RRevSlow CON 800
    RRevFast CON 1000

    '
    [noparse][[/noparse]Variable]

    pulses VAR Byte

    '
    [noparse][[/noparse]Initialization]

    Start_Delay:
    Pause 2000

    '
    [noparse][[/noparse]Main Code]

    Main:
    FOR pulses = 1 to 125
    PULSOUT LMotor, LFwdSlow
    PULSOUT RMotor, RFwdSlow
    PAUSE 20
    NEXT

    FOR pulses = 1 to 110
    PULSOUT Lmotor, LStop
    PULSOUT Rmotor, RFwdSlow
    PAUSE 20
    NEXT

    FOR pulses = 1 to 50
    PULSOUT LMotor, LFwdFast
    PULSOUT RMotor, RFwdFast
    Pause 20
    NEXT

    FOR pulses = 1 to 30
    PULSOUT LMotor, LFwdFast
    PULSOUT RMotor, RRevFast
    Pause 20
    Next

    Hold_Position:
    PULSOUT LMotor, LStop
    PULSOUT RMotor, RStop
    Pause 20
    GOTO hold_position

    --- In basicstamps@y..., jonwms@a... wrote:
    > Chris:
    >
    > I wrote the SumoBot text and it was tested by several employees, so
    I'm
    > pretty sure that part is good.
    >
    > * Are you plugging the servos into write place and orientation?
    > -- I've plugged them in backwards myself
    > -- the black wire goes towared the outside edge of the PCB
    > * Are your batteries okay?
    > * Did you make any changes to the demo code that would affect the
    servos?
    >
    > -- Jon Williams
    > -- Parallax
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-10-27 13:07
    Did you remember the jumpers on the board for the servo ground?? I believe
    the sumo bot has break in the ground circuit so you can monitor the motor
    current. You either jumper it with a wire or with a low value, high wattage
    resistor.

    > I have two bots, both with fresh batteries, I get 6.+ vdc at the
    > terminals on both. When I run the following code I get nothing on
    > both. I confirmed that the black wire is out.
    >
    > I did get the servos to run on another board with the same code, but
    > they did not run correctly. That is, the both ran in opposite
    > directions no matter what the pulse width was for each, at certain
    > pulse widths they just buzzed.
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-10-27 13:26
    There are no instructions for jumpers, where would they go?

    Original Message
    From: Rodent [noparse]/noparse]mailto:[url=http://forums.parallaxinc.com/group/basicstamps/post?postID=ZqkgqYHSJmfw3LV9wTtxTgppzUuFptoo1Ym9ALEPiLuWNdirrpABZJWFS2HixGJiKckl8kiakM1E2A]daweasel@s...[/url
    Sent: Sunday, October 27, 2002 8:08 AM
    To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    Subject: Re: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Re: SumoBot


    Did you remember the jumpers on the board for the servo ground?? I believe
    the sumo bot has break in the ground circuit so you can monitor the motor
    current. You either jumper it with a wire or with a low value, high wattage
    resistor.

    > I have two bots, both with fresh batteries, I get 6.+ vdc at the
    > terminals on both. When I run the following code I get nothing on
    > both. I confirmed that the black wire is out.
    >
    > I did get the servos to run on another board with the same code, but
    > they did not run correctly. That is, the both ran in opposite
    > directions no matter what the pulse width was for each, at certain
    > pulse widths they just buzzed.




    To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    Body of the message will be ignored.


    Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-10-27 13:38
    I figured it out, I needed a jumper between Vs1 and Vss and Vs2 and Vss.
    There is nothing in the instructions that describes that and the schematic
    indicates that they are connected.

    Thanks!

    Chris


    Original Message
    From: Rodent [noparse]/noparse]mailto:[url=http://forums.parallaxinc.com/group/basicstamps/post?postID=53-t3sS0gCXvHqJICbNSPUIz9WXmm7Sy4vIF-fDdmlQJIND8c6yHO3sl16UTtl3-pL4ArFjyhucD]daweasel@s...[/url
    Sent: Sunday, October 27, 2002 8:08 AM
    To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    Subject: Re: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Re: SumoBot


    Did you remember the jumpers on the board for the servo ground?? I believe
    the sumo bot has break in the ground circuit so you can monitor the motor
    current. You either jumper it with a wire or with a low value, high wattage
    resistor.

    > I have two bots, both with fresh batteries, I get 6.+ vdc at the
    > terminals on both. When I run the following code I get nothing on
    > both. I confirmed that the black wire is out.
    >
    > I did get the servos to run on another board with the same code, but
    > they did not run correctly. That is, the both ran in opposite
    > directions no matter what the pulse width was for each, at certain
    > pulse widths they just buzzed.




    To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    Body of the message will be ignored.


    Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-10-27 14:11
    Sorry, Chris, that's our fault -- we were supposed to put those jumpers in
    for you.

    -- Jon


    In a message dated 10/27/02 7:39:19 AM Central Standard Time,
    cnbnichols@r... writes:


    > I figured it out, I needed a jumper between Vs1 and Vss and Vs2 and Vss.
    > There is nothing in the instructions that describes that and the schematic
    > indicates that they are connected.
    >
    > Thanks!
    >
    > Chris
    >




    [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-10-27 14:12
    I'm not sure exactly where they are located because I've only briefly
    glanced at the board and heard Jon Williams mention them when he was showing
    off this product at our club meeting. If I remember right, they are on a
    couple of single-row sockets somewhere near the servo connectors.

    You did mention one of the two sumo bots worked, so I would compare both
    boards and see if you see anything different.

    > There are no instructions for jumpers, where would they go?

    > Did you remember the jumpers on the board for the servo ground?? I believe
    > the sumo bot has break in the ground circuit so you can monitor the motor
    > current. You either jumper it with a wire or with a low value, high
    wattage
    > resistor.
    >
    > > I have two bots, both with fresh batteries, I get 6.+ vdc at the
    > > terminals on both. When I run the following code I get nothing on
    > > both. I confirmed that the black wire is out.
    > >
    > > I did get the servos to run on another board with the same code, but
    > > they did not run correctly. That is, the both ran in opposite
    > > directions no matter what the pulse width was for each, at certain
    > > pulse widths they just buzzed.
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-10-27 14:18
    For any one else who's ordered a SumoBot, you need to put jumpers between Vss
    and Vs1, and Vss and Vs2. Vs1 and Vs2 are the ground connections to the
    servos.

    Why are the disconnected, you wonder? Well, advanced users may want to
    monitor the motor current to detect stall. How? You can replace the jumpers
    with low-value precision resistors and measure the voltage across these
    resistors with a two-channel ADC.

    -- Jon Williams
    -- Parallax


    In a message dated 10/27/02 8:01:31 AM Central Standard Time,
    cnbnichols@r... writes:


    > There are no instructions for jumpers, where would they go?
    >
    >
    Original Message
    > From: Rodent [noparse]/noparse]mailto:[url=http://forums.parallaxinc.com/group/basicstamps/post?postID=aruiz6HoHH41ToS6MRzk0CIhfqWKF2Ch9hEYayqBXvgTctgLwIsLdNyYSrFWyW05yXKIyAtFtWHLE8bfgEA]daweasel@s...[/url
    > Sent: Sunday, October 27, 2002 8:08 AM
    > To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    > Subject: Re: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Re: SumoBot
    >
    >
    > Did you remember the jumpers on the board for the servo ground?? I believe
    > the sumo bot has break in the ground circuit so you can monitor the motor
    > current. You either jumper it with a wire or with a low value, high wattage
    > resistor.
    >




    [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
Sign In or Register to comment.