Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Serial communication to a digital camera — Parallax Forums

Serial communication to a digital camera

ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
edited 2002-04-25 00:23 in General Discussion
Hello,
I just got the protocol specs for the Kodak DC3400 digital camera. I
am wanting to control it with a BS2. I was hoping I might get some
help here. My first question is: can I use the serial connector that
is on the BS2 carrier board? I have read that you can use the serial
connector to talk to a PC with some modifications which leads to my
second question. To start the communication with the camera the spec
says to hold the DTR signal high for at least 470 msecs. After the
connection is made you send 8 bytes of data that contain the command
strings.

Any help/ideas would be appreciated.

thanks
chad

Comments

  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-04-23 16:58
    That should be no problem Bear, in fact I doubt the serial interface in the
    camera is true RS232 levels but rather they are most likely TTL levels (+5v)
    so you could use any of the I/O pins for comms..

    You need to know from the camers specs the baud rate, number of data
    bits, and parity to properly set up the Stamp serial port.

    Is the spec in a file format or just on paper?? If we had the spec we
    could easily determine the easiest way to use the camera. Can you take a
    picture witht ehcamera remotely via the serial port?? I might be interested
    in that ability for my R/C submarine project.

    MIke B.
    Original Message
    From: "bear_phillips" <bear_phillips@y...>
    To: <basicstamps@yahoogroups.com>
    Sent: Monday, April 22, 2002 8:50 PM
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Serial communication to a digital camera


    > Hello,
    > I just got the protocol specs for the Kodak DC3400 digital camera. I
    > am wanting to control it with a BS2. I was hoping I might get some
    > help here. My first question is: can I use the serial connector that
    > is on the BS2 carrier board? I have read that you can use the serial
    > connector to talk to a PC with some modifications which leads to my
    > second question. To start the communication with the camera the spec
    > says to hold the DTR signal high for at least 470 msecs. After the
    > connection is made you send 8 bytes of data that contain the command
    > strings.
    >
    > Any help/ideas would be appreciated.
    >
    > thanks
    > chad
    >
    >
    > To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    > from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    Body of the message will be ignored.
    >
    >
    > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
    >
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-04-23 17:11
    I am not sure if I can get the stamp make the DTL high, using the
    carrier boards builtin serial connector. Isn't the DTL used by the
    stamp for programming? Anyone ?

    The specs have the baud rate and everything else. I have it in pdf
    format. If you want a copy then just email my privately.

    thanks
    chad
    --- In basicstamps@y..., Mike Blier <w6ffc@p...> wrote:
    > That should be no problem Bear, in fact I doubt the serial interface
    in the
    > camera is true RS232 levels but rather they are most likely TTL
    levels (+5v)
    > so you could use any of the I/O pins for comms..
    >
    > You need to know from the camers specs the baud rate, number of data
    > bits, and parity to properly set up the Stamp serial port.
    >
    > Is the spec in a file format or just on paper?? If we had the
    spec we
    > could easily determine the easiest way to use the camera. Can you
    take a
    > picture witht ehcamera remotely via the serial port?? I might be
    interested
    > in that ability for my R/C submarine project.
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-04-23 17:33
    "Isn't the DTL used by the
    stamp for programming? "

    This is why I am suggesting using I/O pins for the serial communications
    and forget about the DB9 connector. To raise the DTR line simply do this:

    HIGH DTR_Pin
    pause 470
    LOW DTR_Pin

    etc, etc

    Serial comms with the STamp is really, really easy. Send me a copy of
    the .PDF file and I'll take a look and see whats what..

    MIke B.
    w6ffc@p...

    Original Message
    From: "bear_phillips" <bear_phillips@y...>
    To: <basicstamps@yahoogroups.com>
    Sent: Tuesday, April 23, 2002 9:11 AM
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Re: Serial communication to a digital camera


    > I am not sure if I can get the stamp make the DTL high, using the
    > carrier boards builtin serial connector. Isn't the DTL used by the
    > stamp for programming? Anyone ?
    >
    > The specs have the baud rate and everything else. I have it in pdf
    > format. If you want a copy then just email my privately.
    >
    > thanks
    > chad
    > --- In basicstamps@y..., Mike Blier <w6ffc@p...> wrote:
    > > That should be no problem Bear, in fact I doubt the serial interface
    > in the
    > > camera is true RS232 levels but rather they are most likely TTL
    > levels (+5v)
    > > so you could use any of the I/O pins for comms..
    > >
    > > You need to know from the camers specs the baud rate, number of data
    > > bits, and parity to properly set up the Stamp serial port.
    > >
    > > Is the spec in a file format or just on paper?? If we had the
    > spec we
    > > could easily determine the easiest way to use the camera. Can you
    > take a
    > > picture witht ehcamera remotely via the serial port?? I might be
    > interested
    > > in that ability for my R/C submarine project.
    > >
    >
    >
    >
    > To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    > from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    Body of the message will be ignored.
    >
    >
    > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
    >
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-04-23 19:05
    I've talked to a DC50 with a STAMP and PIC. It required RS232 driver
    levels(thier
    end is actually an Appletalk RS422). They also specified using DTR, but I found
    it
    worked without it. All the DC20-120 used the same 8 byte command
    packets(DC20/5 had parity).
    I thought they had dropped serial for USB on all the newer stuff?
    > Hello,
    > I just got the protocol specs for the Kodak DC3400 digital camera. I am
    > wanting to control it with a BS2. I was hoping I might get some help
    > here. My first question is: can I use the serial connector that is on
    > the BS2 carrier board? I have read that you can use the serial connector
    > to talk to a PC with some modifications which leads to my second question.
    > To start the communication with the camera the spec says to hold the DTR
    > signal high for at least 470 msecs. After the connection is made you send
    > 8 bytes of data that contain the command strings.
    >
    > Any help/ideas would be appreciated.
    >


    Mike DeMetz N9GEZ
    Elkhart, IN
    mailto:n9gez@q...
    http://www.elkhart.net/~miked
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-04-23 19:19
    What did you have to do to get RS232 driver levels? From what I have
    read on the net, I thought I could just run four wires from the stamp
    to the serial cable. VSS, 1 pin for serin, 1 pin for serout using a
    22k resitor, and 1 pin for DTR (no resitor ?) . Does that sound
    adequate?

    The later DC series cameras came with both a serial and USB cable. I
    am not sure about the newest models though.

    --- In basicstamps@y..., "Mike DeMetz" <miked@e...> wrote:
    > I've talked to a DC50 with a STAMP and PIC. It required RS232 driver
    levels(thier
    > end is actually an Appletalk RS422). They also specified using DTR,
    but I found it
    > worked without it. All the DC20-120 used the same 8 byte command
    > packets(DC20/5 had parity).
    > I thought they had dropped serial for USB on all the newer stuff?
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-04-23 20:43
    Wow! Am I impressed with the interface of this camera!! What did you
    have to pay for the camera?? I have an Olympus D360L that I am going to
    have to see if It has the interface specs available somewhere.....

    Anyway, even if the RS232 levels are realy RS232 you can still use either
    direct connection to the camera by simply inserting a 22k resistor in series
    with the data pin FROM the camera. TTL levels from the stamp TO the camera
    should still work just fine.

    If you are really worried about it you can use a MAX232 chip that will
    convert the RS232 level to TTL or if all else fails you could use the serial
    port (pins 1 -4) on the stamp.

    Mike B.

    Original Message
    From: "bear_phillips" <bear_phillips@y...>
    To: <basicstamps@yahoogroups.com>
    Sent: Tuesday, April 23, 2002 11:19 AM
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Re: Serial communication to a digital camera


    > What did you have to do to get RS232 driver levels? From what I have
    > read on the net, I thought I could just run four wires from the stamp
    > to the serial cable. VSS, 1 pin for serin, 1 pin for serout using a
    > 22k resitor, and 1 pin for DTR (no resitor ?) . Does that sound
    > adequate?
    >
    > The later DC series cameras came with both a serial and USB cable. I
    > am not sure about the newest models though.
    >
    > --- In basicstamps@y..., "Mike DeMetz" <miked@e...> wrote:
    > > I've talked to a DC50 with a STAMP and PIC. It required RS232 driver
    > levels(thier
    > > end is actually an Appletalk RS422). They also specified using DTR,
    > but I found it
    > > worked without it. All the DC20-120 used the same 8 byte command
    > > packets(DC20/5 had parity).
    > > I thought they had dropped serial for USB on all the newer stuff?
    >
    >
    >
    > To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    > from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    Body of the message will be ignored.
    >
    >
    > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/

    >
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-04-23 21:28
    You can get a refurbished one on kodak.com for $249. You are in luck
    on your camera. Someone already has a stamp working with it. Go to
    http://www.parallaxinc.com/html_files/customer_apps/apps_digitalcamera.htm

    He uses a different model, but according to photopc.sourceforge.org
    his camera has the same protocol as yours. photopc.sourceforge.org
    has the protocal for cameras that use the sierra chip which I think
    includes the D360L

    --- In basicstamps@y..., Mike Blier <w6ffc@p...> wrote:
    > Wow! Am I impressed with the interface of this camera!! What did you
    > have to pay for the camera?? I have an Olympus D360L that I am going to
    > have to see if It has the interface specs available somewhere.....
    >
    > Anyway, even if the RS232 levels are realy RS232 you can still
    use either
    > direct connection to the camera by simply inserting a 22k resistor
    in series
    > with the data pin FROM the camera. TTL levels from the stamp TO the
    camera
    > should still work just fine.
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-04-23 22:48
    Has anyone seen the serial protocol for a Canon digital camera? I have
    a Canon S20, and I would like to do some remote serial interfacing to
    it.

    Thanks
    Allan

    Original Message
    From: bear_phillips <bear_phillips@y...>
    Date: Tuesday, April 23, 2002 2:28 pm
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Re: Serial communication to a digital camera

    > You can get a refurbished one on kodak.com for $249. You are in luck
    > on your camera. Someone already has a stamp working with it. Go to
    > http://www.parallaxinc.com/html_files/customer_app
    >
    > He uses a different model, but according to photopc.sourceforge.org
    > his camera has the same protocol as yours. photopc.sourceforge.org
    > has the protocal for cameras that use the sierra chip which I think
    > includes the D360L
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-04-24 00:51
    I love this stuff. You ask for help and wind up helping the helper!! <g>
    Thanks for the heads up.

    Now if I can only figure out a working periscope for the camera to look
    through.. Hmmm.......

    Mike B.

    Original Message
    From: "bear_phillips" <bear_phillips@y...>
    To: <basicstamps@yahoogroups.com>
    Sent: Tuesday, April 23, 2002 1:28 PM
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Re: Serial communication to a digital camera


    > You can get a refurbished one on kodak.com for $249. You are in luck
    > on your camera. Someone already has a stamp working with it. Go to
    > http://www.parallaxinc.com/html_files/customer_apps/apps_digitalcamera.htm
    >
    > He uses a different model, but according to photopc.sourceforge.org
    > his camera has the same protocol as yours. photopc.sourceforge.org
    > has the protocal for cameras that use the sierra chip which I think
    > includes the D360L
    >
    > --- In basicstamps@y..., Mike Blier <w6ffc@p...> wrote:
    > > Wow! Am I impressed with the interface of this camera!! What did you
    > > have to pay for the camera?? I have an Olympus D360L that I am going to
    > > have to see if It has the interface specs available somewhere.....
    > >
    > > Anyway, even if the RS232 levels are realy RS232 you can still
    > use either
    > > direct connection to the camera by simply inserting a 22k resistor
    > in series
    > > with the data pin FROM the camera. TTL levels from the stamp TO the
    > camera
    > > should still work just fine.
    >
    >
    >
    > To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    > from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    Body of the message will be ignored.
    >
    >
    > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
    >
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-04-24 01:00
    I just got turned on to this site, check here...

    http://sourceforge.net/softwaremap/trove_list.php

    Mike B.

    Original Message
    From: <aldobler@s...>
    To: <basicstamps@yahoogroups.com>
    Sent: Tuesday, April 23, 2002 2:48 PM
    Subject: Re: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Re: Serial communication to a digital camera


    > Has anyone seen the serial protocol for a Canon digital camera? I have
    > a Canon S20, and I would like to do some remote serial interfacing to
    > it.
    >
    > Thanks
    > Allan
    >
    >
    Original Message
    > From: bear_phillips <bear_phillips@y...>
    > Date: Tuesday, April 23, 2002 2:28 pm
    > Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Re: Serial communication to a digital camera
    >
    > > You can get a refurbished one on kodak.com for $249. You are in luck
    > > on your camera. Someone already has a stamp working with it. Go to
    > > http://www.parallaxinc.com/html_files/customer_app
    > >
    > > He uses a different model, but according to photopc.sourceforge.org
    > > his camera has the same protocol as yours. photopc.sourceforge.org
    > > has the protocal for cameras that use the sierra chip which I think
    > > includes the D360L
    > >
    >
    >
    > To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    > from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    Body of the message will be ignored.
    >
    >
    > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
    >
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-04-24 01:20
    Go to www.gphoto.org . They have linux/unix drivers for most cameras
    including the Canon S20. If you ask on their mailing list, I am sure
    someone can get you the protocol. That is how I got mine.


    --- In basicstamps@y..., aldobler@s... wrote> Has anyone seen the
    serial protocol for a Canon digital camera? I have

    > a Canon S20, and I would like to do some remote serial interfacing to
    > it.
    >
    > Thanks
    > Allan
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-04-24 05:09
    Well no luck so far. I am going to get a max232. I looked at Jameco,
    and found many types of max232. Can anyone give me some info on what
    all I need to do rs232 communication. Which max232, any other parts
    needed? I a sample schematic?

    What I am trying to do is set the DTR high, then send 8 bytes in hex
    "7C,00,00,00,00,00,00,1A" at 9600 baud 8 bit, no parity, 1 stop bit.
    Can anyone take a quick look at my code and see if it looks right.

    high 3
    debug "high",cr
    sleep 5
    BAUD_MODE CON 16468
    serout 0, BAUD_MODE ,[noparse][[/noparse]$7C,$00,$00,$00,$00,$00,$00,$1A]


    Pin3 on BS2 connects to pin 4 on the serial connector
    Pin0 on BS2 connects to pin 2 on serial
    VSS on BS2 connects to pin 5 on serial

    thanks
    chad
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-04-24 13:11
    A max232 requires 4 1uF caps. A max232A requires 4 .1uF caps. A max233
    requires no caps (but costs more than a max232 + 4 caps).

    You can find the schematics in the data sheet at www.maxim-ic.com. You
    might consider http://www.al-williams.com/awce/rs1.htm which is easy to
    use with a breadboard or even to integrate into a permanent design.

    Al Williams
    AWC
    * Floating point A/D
    http://www.al-williams.com/awce/pak9.htm



    >
    Original Message
    > From: bear_phillips [noparse]/noparse]mailto:[url=http://forums.parallaxinc.com/group/basicstamps/post?postID=6ueUVQD2w9I1NyjdOj3J_UMth8DRDhFTQS-XwrS9FL69dPAdjiETjdb0uidMSXeNVZcDDKEKcRdpxbU-2LmP]bear_phillips@y...[/url
    > Sent: Tuesday, April 23, 2002 11:10 PM
    > To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    > Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Re: Serial communication to a digital camera
    >
    >
    > Well no luck so far. I am going to get a max232. I looked
    > at Jameco, and found many types of max232. Can anyone give
    > me some info on what all I need to do rs232 communication.
    > Which max232, any other parts needed? I a sample schematic?
    >
    > What I am trying to do is set the DTR high, then send 8 bytes
    > in hex "7C,00,00,00,00,00,00,1A" at 9600 baud 8 bit, no
    > parity, 1 stop bit.
    > Can anyone take a quick look at my code and see if it looks right.
    >
    > high 3
    > debug "high",cr
    > sleep 5
    > BAUD_MODE CON 16468
    > serout 0, BAUD_MODE ,[noparse][[/noparse]$7C,$00,$00,$00,$00,$00,$00,$1A]
    >
    >
    > Pin3 on BS2 connects to pin 4 on the serial connector
    > Pin0 on BS2 connects to pin 2 on serial
    > VSS on BS2 connects to pin 5 on serial
    >
    > thanks
    > chad
    >
    >
    > To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    > from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the
    > Subject and Body of the message will be ignored.
    >
    >
    > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to
    > http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-04-24 15:05
    Hi Chad - have you got the URL for the camera specification?

    Thanks,

    Tony Wells


    Original Message
    From: "bear_phillips" <bear_phillips@y...>
    To: <basicstamps@yahoogroups.com>
    Sent: Tuesday, April 23, 2002 4:50 AM
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Serial communication to a digital camera


    > Hello,
    > I just got the protocol specs for the Kodak DC3400 digital camera. I
    > am wanting to control it with a BS2. I was hoping I might get some
    > help here. My first question is: can I use the serial connector that
    > is on the BS2 carrier board? I have read that you can use the serial
    > connector to talk to a PC with some modifications which leads to my
    > second question. To start the communication with the camera the spec
    > says to hold the DTR signal high for at least 470 msecs. Aft

    > connection is made you send 8 bytes of data that contain the command
    > strings.
    >
    > Any help/ideas would be appreciated.
    >
    > thanks
    > chad
    >
    >
    > To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    > from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    Body of the message will be ignored.
    >
    >
    > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
    >
    >
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-04-24 17:13
    Just a quick note:

    Maxim/Dallas will send free samples of the max232, max232a, and max233
    (as well as a large assortment of other Dallas and Maxim parts). I
    have found their extemely liberal samples policy to be very usefull
    when prototyping out something that requires only one or two pieces of
    a part that you would otherwise have to order from someone who has a
    minimum purchase. Check them out on the web at:

    www.dalsemi.com

    Dallas Semiconductor and Maxim have merged, so they have the same
    website now. Just follow the "Samples and Literature" link on their
    home page. You could easily combine the freebie parts from Maxim with
    Al's SR-1 breadboard kit to make an RS-232 interface for your Stamp for
    less than 10 bucks...

    peter

    Original Message
    From: "Al Williams" <alw@a...>
    Date: Wednesday, April 24, 2002 8:11 am
    Subject: RE: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Re: Serial communication to a digital camera

    > A max232 requires 4 1uF caps. A max232A requires 4 .1uF caps. A max233
    > requires no caps (but costs more than a max232 + 4 caps).
    >
    > You can find the schematics in the data sheet at www.maxim-ic.com. You
    > might consider http://www.al-williams.co which is easy to
    > use with a breadboard or even to integrate into a permanent design.
    >
    > Al Williams
    > AWC
    > * Floating point A/D
    > http://www.al-williams.co
    >
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-04-25 00:23
    On my DC50 I had to use a MAX232 chip in order for the camera to talk serial.
    Below is the take picture code(True9600).
    'serout TX,84,[noparse][[/noparse]$7C,$00,$05,$00,$00,$00,$00,$1a]
    'serin RX,84,[noparse][[/noparse]Stat1]
    'serin RX,84,[noparse][[/noparse]Stat2]
    The last 2 lines just wait and eat the command OK and command complete bytes
    sent by the camera.
    >
    > Well no luck so far. I am going to get a max232. I looked at Jameco, and
    > found many types of max232. Can anyone give me some info on what all I
    > need to do rs232 communication. Which max232, any other parts needed? I a
    > sample schematic?
    >
    > What I am trying to do is set the DTR high, then send 8 bytes in hex
    > "7C,00,00,00,00,00,00,1A" at 9600 baud 8 bit, no parity, 1 stop bit. Can
    > anyone take a quick look at my code and see if it looks right.
    >
    > high 3
    > debug "high",cr
    > sleep 5
    > BAUD_MODE CON 16468
    > serout 0, BAUD_MODE ,[noparse][[/noparse]$7C,$00,$00,$00,$00,$00,$00,$1A]
    >
    >
    > Pin3 on BS2 connects to pin 4 on the serial connector
    > Pin0 on BS2 connects to pin 2 on serial
    > VSS on BS2 connects to pin 5 on serial
    >
Sign In or Register to comment.