Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
adding ram — Parallax Forums

adding ram

ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
edited 2001-09-24 20:15 in General Discussion
Hello,

I've seen many options for adding EEPROM memory to a stamp, but I'm
wondering if extra RAM can be added to a stamp? I've got an application
where I need to generate a long list of numbers, and then transmit them to a
motor controller every few seconds in a loop, and I'm afraid that EEPROM
might get worn out quicly or that it might not be fast enough.

Thanks,
Stewart

[noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

Comments

  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2001-09-24 10:08
    Stewart,
    There is a RAM pack available on Solutions Cubed's site, the 'RAM Pack B'
    that may be what your looking for it's at
    http://www.solutions-cubed.com/rampack_main.htm Hope this helps, at least a
    little ;-)

    Chris Shuster
    http://www.cpuman.f2s.com/

    Original Message
    From: "Stewart Mayer" <stewlist@k...>
    To: <basicstamps@yahoogroups.com>
    Sent: Monday, September 24, 2001 1:20 AM
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] adding ram


    > Hello,
    >
    > I've seen many options for adding EEPROM memory to a stamp, but I'm
    > wondering if extra RAM can be added to a stamp? I've got an application
    > where I need to generate a long list of numbers, and then transmit them to
    a
    > motor controller every few seconds in a loop, and I'm afraid that EEPROM
    > might get worn out quicly or that it might not be fast enough.
    >
    > Thanks,
    > Stewart
    >
    > [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
    >
    >
    > To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    > from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    Body of the message will be ignored.
    >
    >
    > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
    >
    >
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2001-09-24 16:40
    I also found an I2c ram chip from phillips...

    http://www-us7.semiconductors.philips.com/pip/PCF8570T/F5

    I like the i2c interphase requiring fewer stamp pins, but the memory size
    isn't as large. Do you know if i2c is faster than 9600 baud serial? I
    think I may re-think my application and how it works so I don't need the
    extra memory after all, but thanks for the link.

    stewart



    Original Message

    From: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    Date: Monday, September 24, 2001 04:08:00 AM
    To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    Subject: Re: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] adding ram

    Stewart,
    There is a RAM pack available on Solutions Cubed's site, the 'RAM Pack B'
    that may be what your looking for it's at
    http://www.solutions-cubed.com/rampack_main.htm Hope this helps, at least a
    little ;-)

    Chris Shuster
    http://www.cpuman.f2s.com/

    Original Message
    From: "Stewart Mayer" <stewlist@k...>
    To: <basicstamps@yahoogroups.com>
    Sent: Monday, September 24, 2001 1:20 AM
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] adding ram


    > Hello,
    >
    > I've seen many options for adding EEPROM memory to a stamp, but I'm
    > wondering if extra RAM can be added to a stamp? I've got an application
    > where I need to generate a long list of numbers, and then transmit them to
    a
    > motor controller every few seconds in a loop, and I'm afraid that EEPROM
    > might get worn out quicly or that it might not be fast enough.
    >
    > Thanks,
    > Stewart
    >
    > [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
    >
    >
    > To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    > from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    Body of the message will be ignored.
    >
    >
    > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
    >
    >
    >

    To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    Body of the message will be ignored.


    Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/

    [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2001-09-24 17:07
    >I also found an I2c ram chip from phillips...
    >
    >http://www-us7.semiconductors.philips.com/pip/PCF8570T/F5
    >
    >I like the i2c interphase requiring fewer stamp pins, but the memory size
    >isn't as large. Do you know if i2c is faster than 9600 baud serial? I
    >think I may re-think my application and how it works so I don't need the
    >extra memory after all, but thanks for the link.
    >
    >stewart


    Hi Stuart,

    On the Stamp, the comparison of speed between 9600 baud vs I2C has to
    start with the question of whether you are using a BS2P or one of the
    earlier Stamps. The BS2P has built-in I2C, while the implementation
    of I2C on the earlier chips requires a lot of bit-banging, and is
    therefore very slow. On the BS2P, one I2C instruction will be roughly
    comparable to one RS232 instruction.

    The Atmel dataflash chips also have RAM buffers of 264 to 528 bytes,
    accessible via SPI interface (which is present on the earlier stamps
    as well as on the BS2P).

    http://www.atmel.com/atmel/products/prod9.htm
    http://www.emesystems.com/BS2flash.htm


    -- regards,
    Tracy Allen
    electronically monitored ecosystems
    mailto:tracy@e...
    http://www.emesystems.com
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2001-09-24 19:59
    You can use more pins and code to interface a regular static ram chip. I
    have used this 512k x 8 chip successfully in the past

    http://www.jameco.com/cgi-bin/ncommerce3/ExecMacro/Jameco/searchResult.d2w/r
    eport?sort=&search=157358

    Jay

    > Hello,
    >
    > I've seen many options for adding EEPROM memory to a stamp, but I'm
    > wondering if extra RAM can be added to a stamp? I've got an application
    > where I need to generate a long list of numbers, and then transmit them to
    a
    > motor controller every few seconds in a loop, and I'm afraid that EEPROM
    > might get worn out quicly or that it might not be fast enough.
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2001-09-24 20:15
    >You can use more pins and code to interface a regular static ram chip. I
    >have used this 512k x 8 chip successfully in the past
    >
    >http://www.jameco.com/cgi->bin/ncommerce3/ExecMacro/Jameco/searchResult.d2w
    /r
    >eport?sort=&search=157358

    I forgot to mention that you load and retrieve all 8 bits at a time.
    Moreover, this approach can be used for random access of all 512k bytes.
    The biggest disadvantage is that takes lots of Stamp I/O pins.

    Twelve pins for serial access through a 4040 counter chip, probably 29 pins
    for random access. More if you want more ram.

    Jay
Sign In or Register to comment.