Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
VB Interface — Parallax Forums

VB Interface

ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
edited 2001-04-23 23:08 in General Discussion
Hi,

Has anyone used this VB interface to run the BS2? :
http://www.picobay.com/VB6.html

I tried it, and I get the error message, "Invalid com port or port
already in use." I do not understand this. The stamp works with the
debug screen and everything...so why not with this program. All the
setting are the same.

Any help?
Thanks,
Corey

Comments

  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2001-04-23 12:35
    Hi ,
    You don't happen to have any Palm Pilot Software on your computer or
    anything else that may tie up your serial port ?

    Regards

    Dean
    Original Message
    From: <the_coin_guy@y...>
    To: <basicstamps@yahoogroups.com>
    Sent: Monday, April 23, 2001 9:16 PM
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] VB Interface


    > Hi,
    >
    > Has anyone used this VB interface to run the BS2? :
    > http://www.picobay.com/VB6.html
    >
    > I tried it, and I get the error message, "Invalid com port or port
    > already in use." I do not understand this. The stamp works with the
    > debug screen and everything...so why not with this program. All the
    > setting are the same.
    >
    > Any help?
    > Thanks,
    > Corey
    >
    >
    >
    >
    > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
    >
    >
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2001-04-23 15:06
    Corey-

    I have not used the VB interface that you referenced, but have written
    several of my own. My experience with the MSCOMM control has taught me
    that it is extremely picky. You must make sure that the com port it is
    trying to use is not already in use by another app. I have found that
    the only way to get it to reliably work is by including a little
    subroutine to test the com port before MSCOMM tries to open it (here is
    a little pcode snippet):

    IF com1 = open THEN
    Close com1
    End IF
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2001-04-23 15:26
    Yup, except I would do an ON ERROR routine, and if trying to open the port
    gave an error, you can assume it either does not exist or is in use by
    another device.

    Original Message

    > I have not used the VB interface that you referenced, but have written
    > several of my own. My experience with the MSCOMM control has taught me
    > that it is extremely picky. You must make sure that the com port it is
    > trying to use is not already in use by another app. I have found that
    > the only way to get it to reliably work is by including a little
    > subroutine to test the com port before MSCOMM tries to open it (here is
    > a little pcode snippet):
    >
    > IF com1 = open THEN
    > Close com1
    > End IF
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2001-04-23 23:04
    Ni, I don't. The debug screen works though...so, doesnt that mean the
    port is free?

    --- In basicstamps@y..., "Dean Stevenson" <dean@i...> wrote:
    > Hi ,
    > You don't happen to have any Palm Pilot Software on your computer or
    > anything else that may tie up your serial port ?
    >
    > Regards
    >
    > Dean
    >
    Original Message
    > From: <the_coin_guy@y...>
    > To: <basicstamps@y...>
    > Sent: Monday, April 23, 2001 9:16 PM
    > Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] VB Interface
    >
    >
    > > Hi,
    > >
    > > Has anyone used this VB interface to run the BS2? :
    > > http://www.picobay.com/VB6.html
    > >
    > > I tried it, and I get the error message, "Invalid com port or port
    > > already in use." I do not understand this. The stamp works with the
    > > debug screen and everything...so why not with this program. All the
    > > setting are the same.
    > >
    > > Any help?
    > > Thanks,
    > > Corey
    > >
    > >
    > >
    > >
    > > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to
    http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
    > >
    > >
    > >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2001-04-23 23:07
    Hi,

    Thanks for the info. This program, instead of having to cut the ATN
    line, has the DTR disabled in the MSCOMM control....could this be a
    problem, or is this a proven way of having it work...?

    Thanks,
    Corey C.

    --- In basicstamps@y..., Rodent <daweasel@s...> wrote:
    > Yup, except I would do an ON ERROR routine, and if trying to open
    the port
    > gave an error, you can assume it either does not exist or is in use by
    > another device.
    >
    >
    Original Message
    >
    > > I have not used the VB interface that you referenced, but have written
    > > several of my own. My experience with the MSCOMM control has
    taught me
    > > that it is extremely picky. You must make sure that the com port
    it is
    > > trying to use is not already in use by another app. I have found that
    > > the only way to get it to reliably work is by including a little
    > > subroutine to test the com port before MSCOMM tries to open it
    (here is
    > > a little pcode snippet):
    > >
    > > IF com1 = open THEN
    > > Close com1
    > > End IF
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2001-04-23 23:08
    [font=arial,helvetica]In a message dated 4/23/01 5:05:54 PM Central Daylight Time,
    the_coin_guy@yahoo.com writes:


    Ni, I don't. The debug screen works though...so, doesnt that mean the
    port is free?



    If you have DEBUG statements in your program and the Stamp editor running,
    the port will get tied up. ·Try to shut down the editor before running your
    VB app.

    -- Jon Williams
    -- Dallas, TX

    [/font]
Sign In or Register to comment.