Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Serial Port — Parallax Forums

Serial Port

ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
edited 2004-03-27 18:07 in General Discussion
Has anyone used Microsoft Quick Basic to transfer data between a PC and a stamp II using the com port?

Justin

Comments

  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2001-09-20 20:20
    Stampers,

    What does the DTR pin of the serial port on a PC do? I'm hoping it "clocks"
    the communications between a PC and some other device?

    David Fixemer
    fixemerd@a...
    402-472-8239
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2001-09-20 21:27
    Stampers,

    Has anyone ever hooked up an ADC to the serial port of a computer? How do
    you clock the ADC?

    David Fixemer
    Fixemerd@a...
    402-472-8239
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2001-11-22 13:29
    Hi again..

    Ok, I got it to work ... yay! Howeever, now, I want to send a msg
    from the computer to the transceiver... the serial data out pin (pin
    3 on serial port) is always high though when no data is sent. When i
    connect that pin to the transceiver input (pin 1 - TX), the TX is
    always on then because of this voltage high from pin 3 of the serial
    port... and then i can't receive anything from the receiver... does
    anyone know if i can keep that pin (pin 3 on serial) low always, and
    when it transmits it will transmit data... I tried just puting
    outportb(0) or something like that..but, it would still add the start
    bits, which screwed things up...

    Thanks

    Debu
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2001-11-22 19:29
    Hi Debu,

    I'm thinking this might be normal. Have you already hooked up the
    transceiver, and verified it doesn't work? Or did you just hook up a
    voltmeter, see the voltage and think "That's not right!"?

    It's been a while since I worked with asynch at this level, but I'll give it
    a try. When the line is idle, the line is kept at mark level.. The start of
    a data byte is signaled by a start bit at space level. The start bit is
    followed by the defined number of data bits from LSB to MSB, the parity bit
    if defined, and the defined number of stop bits, again at mark level. Mark
    level, according to the document I looked at at
    http://www.techfest.com/networking/wan/async.htm says that "MARK condition
    is normally established by a NEGATIVE voltage on the interface." I'm
    guessing this voltage is probably what you're seeing.

    Gregory Ross


    Original Message
    From: <debu_sen_22@y...>
    To: <basicstamps@yahoogroups.com>
    Sent: Thursday, November 22, 2001 5:29 AM
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Serial Port


    > Hi again..
    >
    > Ok, I got it to work ... yay! Howeever, now, I want to send a msg
    > from the computer to the transceiver... the serial data out pin (pin
    > 3 on serial port) is always high though when no data is sent. When i
    > connect that pin to the transceiver input (pin 1 - TX), the TX is
    > always on then because of this voltage high from pin 3 of the serial
    > port... and then i can't receive anything from the receiver... does
    > anyone know if i can keep that pin (pin 3 on serial) low always, and
    > when it transmits it will transmit data... I tried just puting
    > outportb(0) or something like that..but, it would still add the start
    > bits, which screwed things up...
    >
    > Thanks
    >
    > Debu
    >
    >
    > To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    > from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    Body of the message will be ignored.
    >
    >
    > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/

    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2001-11-23 12:14
    Yes negative at RS232 levels and high at the TTL side. 0 if using no driver.
    Note some modules like the MING are simple on/off so should be a low input in
    the
    idle state.
    > Hi Debu,
    >
    > I'm thinking this might be normal. Have you already hooked up the
    > transceiver, and verified it doesn't work? Or did you just hook up a
    > voltmeter, see the voltage and think "That's not right!"?
    >
    > It's been a while since I worked with asynch at this level, but I'll
    > give it a try. When the line is idle, the line is kept at mark level..
    > The start of a data byte is signaled by a start bit at space level.
    > The start bit is followed by the defined number of data bits from LSB
    > to MSB, the parity bit if defined, and the defined number of stop
    > bits, again at mark level. Mark level, according to the document I
    > looked at at http://www.techfest.com/networking/wan/async.htm says
    > that "MARK condition is normally established by a NEGATIVE voltage on
    > the interface." I'm guessing this voltage is probably what you're
    > seeing.
    >
    > Gregory Ross
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2001-11-23 14:52
    Hey

    I was wondering before if there was anyway in C that I could make the
    pin 3 of the serial port to be 0V instead of 5V (after the Max 232
    conversion). The 5V is messing things up for me... my one solution
    was to put it through a not gate, and then have another not gate at
    the other receiving end...

    Debu
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-12-05 13:30
    hai,
    I am going to assembl my on BS2(board of education).I need help
    for interfacing BS2(using serial port) with PC.i am not understanding
    the cicuit(board of education manual)confution came from one
    photo(basicstamps/group).
    anand
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-04-22 07:30
    I just go a laptop PC that I'd like to use for my Stamp work. but it has no
    serial port. Is there a way to add a serial port? It has USB ports and I
    think I've seen something about going from USB to serial.

    thanks

    bob


    [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-04-22 14:27
    Apparently, the best USB to serial converter is the
    Keyspan 19W -- you can look on their website, and
    comp-usa sometimes has them.

    Stay away from BELKIN, as they don't support the
    'ATN' line (DTR) properly.

    --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, eclecticrr@A... wrote:
    > I just go a laptop PC that I'd like to use for my Stamp work. but
    it has no
    > serial port. Is there a way to add a serial port? It has USB
    ports and I
    > think I've seen something about going from USB to serial.
    >
    > thanks
    >
    > bob
    >
    >
    > [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-04-22 16:43
    You can add a serial port via a PCMCIA card too. I had problems
    finding one at first, but I was able to get one at Fry's Electronics.
    But as you already may know with Fry's, its hit or miss!

    Ed

    --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, eclecticrr@A... wrote:
    > I just go a laptop PC that I'd like to use for my Stamp work. but
    it has no
    > serial port. Is there a way to add a serial port? It has USB
    ports and I
    > think I've seen something about going from USB to serial.
    >
    > thanks
    >
    > bob
    >
    >
    > [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-04-22 16:54
    Beware the sticker-of-death at Fry's -- those return stickers mean its
    probably broken or missing parts.


    Original Message

    > You can add a serial port via a PCMCIA card too. I had problems
    > finding one at first, but I was able to get one at Fry's Electronics.
    > But as you already may know with Fry's, its hit or miss!

    > > I just go a laptop PC that I'd like to use for my Stamp work. but
    > it has no
    > > serial port. Is there a way to add a serial port? It has USB
    > ports and I
    > > think I've seen something about going from USB to serial.
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-04-23 12:04
    Bob,

    Here are a link to the B&B site, they have all sorts of usb> 232,
    eithernet> 232, pcmcia> 232 ect. Not cheap but they work well.

    http://www.bb-elec.com/add_a_port/serial_usb_chart.asp

    Not paid by B&B, I just use their stuff.

    Brent



    --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, "amulet_ed" <edsandoval@h...>
    wrote:
    > You can add a serial port via a PCMCIA card too. I had problems
    > finding one at first, but I was able to get one at Fry's
    Electronics.
    > But as you already may know with Fry's, its hit or miss!
    >
    > Ed
    >
    > --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, eclecticrr@A... wrote:
    > > I just go a laptop PC that I'd like to use for my Stamp work.
    but
    > it has no
    > > serial port. Is there a way to add a serial port? It has USB
    > ports and I
    > > think I've seen something about going from USB to serial.
    > >
    > > thanks
    > >
    > > bob
    > >
    > >
    > > [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2004-03-27 12:00
    just got bs2 and found out need 9 pin serial to comm. over. my laptop
    only has vga,parallel printer & usb plus the pdmcia port. any help?
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2004-03-27 16:46
    In a message dated 3/27/2004 11:41:29 AM Eastern Standard Time,
    wndtnnl2000@y... writes:


    > just got bs2 and found out need 9 pin serial to comm. over. my laptop
    > only has vga,parallel printer & usb plus the pdmcia port. any help?
    >
    >
    >

    You will have to get a USB to serial adapter.

    Sid Weaver
    W4EKQ
    Port Richey, FL


    [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2004-03-27 16:50
    I would try the USB to Serial (DB-9) Adapter
    http://www.parallax.com/html_pages/products/componentshop/cables_power.asp

    --- wndtnnl2000 <wndtnnl2000@y...> wrote:
    > just got bs2 and found out need 9 pin serial to
    > comm. over. my laptop
    > only has vga,parallel printer & usb plus the pdmcia
    > port. any help?
    >
    >
    >
    >
    > To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    > from the same email address that you subscribed.
    > Text in the Subject and Body of the message will be
    > ignored.
    >
    > Yahoo! Groups Links
    >
    >
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    >
    >
    >


    __________________________________
    Do you Yahoo!?
    Yahoo! Finance Tax Center - File online. File on time.
    http://taxes.yahoo.com/filing.html
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2004-03-27 18:07
    Use a USB to Serial adapter ... like BAFO or FTDI.

    -- Jon Williams
    -- Parallax


    Original Message
    From: wndtnnl2000 [noparse]/noparse]mailto:[url=http://forums.parallaxinc.com/group/basicstamps/post?postID=efFN5PxTpmDSrDBE8HKSvpKR4Mgra5rUfd7Ak-uFftzN5TMeadbKv-H6paL1mJwM3f9EB289ag-Yx4U]wndtnnl2000@y...[/url
    Sent: Saturday, March 27, 2004 6:01 AM
    To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] serial port


    just got bs2 and found out need 9 pin serial to comm. over. my laptop
    only has vga,parallel printer & usb plus the pdmcia port. any help?
Sign In or Register to comment.