Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help — Parallax Forums

Help

ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
edited 2003-12-06 06:20 in General Discussion
Can some one explain to me the math on
page 21 and 24 on how thay came up with
1.5ms this is book Robotics v1.4 Student work book
I`ve tried to do it by calc and long form and as written
but to any event have not come up with the
answer.
just like page 48 #3 wants to know
What is the nessary PULSOUT duration argument
to make a 1.626 ms pulse?
I`m unable to answer it till I see
how the first is answered.

Thanks for your time
Jeff Jensen

Comments

  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2000-12-24 18:17
    Hello,

    Does any body have interface GP2D02 to stamp1? or does any body can tell me
    where to find more details and pograms for BS1 interfacing to GP2D02 ?

    Thanks in advance for help.


    Thanks & Regards

    Kolitha
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2001-04-01 15:37
    I have a gauge that sends out ascii data strings once a second at
    4800 baud, 8N1, over a serial line, 0 to +4.5 volts (not the RS232
    standard +/- 12). The strings all start with "$", are about 45 chars
    long, and are terminated with a CR,LF pair. I can grab these strings
    and display them on my PC using a standard terminal program and a
    normal serial port (COM2). Everything works fine using the PC. The
    strings display correctly, and contain only normal ascii characters,
    always less than < dec 128 bytes, as they should be.

    However, I can't grab these bytes using my BS2X and the program code
    below. I thought it should have been pretty easy, since it looks
    like electrically the signal is just standard TTL logic signals,
    which I presume can be directly input to a BS2X input pin, using
    the "non-inverted/direct connection" baud mode value. The + signal
    line from the gauge is connected to pin 0 thru a 22K resistor; the
    ground signal line is connected to Vss.

    The code is only test code, and I am only trying to grab any old 10
    bytes that come in. Characters are, in fact, grabbed and displayed
    but none of them are what they should be, and in fact are often ascii
    extended characters. It never seems to get 10 chars either,
    typically only about 6.

    I also tried the other 3 baud mode values for 4800 baud, including
    the non-inverted ones. Results were much the same, same characters
    displayed except that now typically only 1 or 2 each time, instead of
    6 or so.

    If anyone can help me out with this I will greatly appreciate it.
    Thanks.
    CPpin CON 0 ' Serial in connected to pin 0
    CPbaudcode CON 16572 ' 4800 baud, 8N1, inverted/direct
    CPtimout CON 2000 ' Max time to wait for data (ms)
    CPstr VAR BYTE(11) ' 10 chars + terminating null
    OUTS = %0000000000000000
    DIRS = %0000000000000000
    CPstr(10) = 0 ' Null-terminate string

    GetChars:
    SERIN CPpin, CPbaudcode, CPtimout, Timout, [noparse][[/noparse]STR CPstr\10]
    DEBUG HOME, STR CPstr
    PAUSE 500 ' Wait 1/2 second
    GOTO GetChars
    Timout:
    DEBUG "No activity on pin 0. Program terminated."
    END
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2001-04-01 16:33
    At 4/1/2001 Sunday 10:37 AM, esn@e... promulgated:
    >I have a gauge that sends out ascii data strings once a second at
    >4800 baud, 8N1, over a serial line, 0 to +4.5 volts (not the RS232
    >standard +/- 12). The strings all start with "$", are about 45 chars
    >long, and are terminated with a CR,LF pair. I can grab these strings
    >and display them on my PC using a standard terminal program and a
    >normal serial port (COM2). Everything works fine using the PC. The
    >strings display correctly, and contain only normal ascii characters,
    >always less than < dec 128 bytes, as they should be.
    >
    >However, I can't grab these bytes using my BS2X and the program code
    >below. I thought it should have been pretty easy, since it looks
    >like electrically the signal is just standard TTL logic signals,
    >which I presume can be directly input to a BS2X input pin, using
    >the "non-inverted/direct connection" baud mode value. The + signal
    >line from the gauge is connected to pin 0 thru a 22K resistor; the
    >ground signal line is connected to Vss.
    >
    >The code is only test code, and I am only trying to grab any old 10
    >bytes that come in. Characters are, in fact, grabbed and displayed
    >but none of them are what they should be, and in fact are often ascii
    >extended characters. It never seems to get 10 chars either,
    >typically only about 6.
    >
    >I also tried the other 3 baud mode values for 4800 baud, including
    >the non-inverted ones. Results were much the same, same characters
    >displayed except that now typically only 1 or 2 each time, instead of
    >6 or so.
    >
    >If anyone can help me out with this I will greatly appreciate it.
    >Thanks.

    Try 16884 for the baudemode. This is the appropriate baudemode for the BS-2SX.
    The baudmode you are using is for the BS-2 Stamp.

    Regards,

    Bruce
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-02-26 18:02
    I am currently designing a dashboard system for a single-seat off-
    road race car that will be used in the Mini-Baja Competition for the
    Society for Automotive Engineers. THere will be 3 digital inputs
    (Engine RPM, Transmission Shaft Speed, Rear axle speed) : one pulsing
    about 18000x/sec max and the other two at speeds equivalent to 1/2-
    1/3 of that. Addtionally a fuel level sensor will output a 0-5V
    signal to the controller. These signals will be used to calculate
    vehicle speed, Transmission ratio (acutally CVT ratio), Engine RPM,
    and Fuel level so that they can be displayed using LED displays or
    the like. My question is what stamp would be useful and fast enough
    to do all this. I think display of the parameters is to be simple
    LED bar graph type for fuel level and RPM.

    I know all of the info isn't there, but if anyone needs any other
    info pls let me know.. I haven't done this before so I cuold use all
    the help I can get. (It is for a school project).

    THanks,

    J.
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-02-26 18:14
    where are you going to get 18000x pulses a second? that figure sounds really
    high for anything youve mentioned in the email, a stamp might handle it but
    a pic 16f87x surley would.

    let me know i can help.

    normdoty@h...



    >From: "jay_mann2000" <jay_mann2000@y...>
    >Reply-To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    >To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    >Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Help
    >Date: Tue, 26 Feb 2002 18:02:15 -0000
    >
    >I am currently designing a dashboard system for a single-seat off-
    >road race car that will be used in the Mini-Baja Competition for the
    >Society for Automotive Engineers. THere will be 3 digital inputs
    >(Engine RPM, Transmission Shaft Speed, Rear axle speed) : one pulsing
    >about 18000x/sec max and the other two at speeds equivalent to 1/2-
    >1/3 of that. Addtionally a fuel level sensor will output a 0-5V
    >signal to the controller. These signals will be used to calculate
    >vehicle speed, Transmission ratio (acutally CVT ratio), Engine RPM,
    >and Fuel level so that they can be displayed using LED displays or
    >the like. My question is what stamp would be useful and fast enough
    >to do all this. I think display of the parameters is to be simple
    >LED bar graph type for fuel level and RPM.
    >
    >I know all of the info isn't there, but if anyone needs any other
    >info pls let me know.. I haven't done this before so I cuold use all
    >the help I can get. (It is for a school project).
    >
    >THanks,
    >
    >J.
    >
    >
    >To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    >from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    >Body of the message will be ignored.
    >
    >
    >Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
    >
    >




    _________________________________________________________________
    Chat with friends online, try MSN Messenger: http://messenger.msn.com
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-01-11 00:22
    Hello to all
    I have a problem
    I have 2 computers, one laptop Epson 486/50Mhz, whit Dos 6.2 , and one Desk
    Celeron 466Mhz whit Win98SE.
    Well in the laptop the BS1 run ok, but in the desk, do not run ; if i put in Dos
    mode, Dos prompt , or in the windows explorer, it give-me one message EEPROM
    VERIFY FAILURE.
    Can you help-me ?
    Much Obliged
    Wagner
    Brazil

    [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-05-04 19:31
    just post your question man/women there are tons of people here to
    answer.
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-05-05 05:26
    can sombody contact me i could use some help
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-07-20 06:51
    Hello,
    I am a new user of basic stamp. Having some problems with the communication
    in my first steps in BS2.
    I am using SERIN and SEROUT command both through the debug communication
    port (Rx=Tx=16).
    While Running my application in the BS2 environment everything works well-
    transmitting and receiving.
    Doing the thing through the hyper terminal is making problems. I receive
    well but the transition of character is not working properly.
    Do I have to use other digital ports (P0, P1 Etc..) and not the debug one
    (16) in order to communicate through the debug port when I am not working
    through the BS2 editor ?

    Thank You

    My Home Telephone Number is: +972-3-6021184
    My Fax Number is: +972-9-9587360
    My Home Telephone Number is: +972-56-546756
    Azriel Roy
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-07-20 16:52
    The reason you're having problems with HyperTerminal is that the
    built-in level-shifter on the BS2 programming port "borrows" power from
    the serial connection and in the process causes anything sent to the BS2
    to be echoed back. The Stamp Editor terminal knows how to deal with
    this. I haven't worked with HyperTerminal in quite a while, but I
    believe you can turn off the local character display. That way, when
    you enter a character in HT, what you'll actually get onscreen is the
    echoed character from the Stamp. That said, you will always see
    something -- there's no way to use a generic terminal with the Stamp's
    programming port an not see at least one character.

    -- Jon Williams
    -- Parallax


    Original Message
    From: Roy Azriel [noparse]/noparse]mailto:[url=http://forums.parallaxinc.com/group/basicstamps/post?postID=A-q0YVx4ZTyuZaBvtH517eCG2zH2G3d650ArC_C0ja__L3y_rWlufIOSWq-TCgsLqXIkOG7UuglrKvmN]royaz@z...[/url
    Sent: Sunday, July 20, 2003 12:52 AM
    To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Help


    Hello,
    I am a new user of basic stamp. Having some problems with the
    communication in my first steps in BS2. I am using SERIN and SEROUT
    command both through the debug communication port (Rx=Tx=16). While
    Running my application in the BS2 environment everything works well-
    transmitting and receiving. Doing the thing through the hyper terminal
    is making problems. I receive well but the transition of character is
    not working properly. Do I have to use other digital ports (P0, P1
    Etc..) and not the debug one
    (16) in order to communicate through the debug port when I am not
    working through the BS2 editor ?

    Thank You

    My Home Telephone Number is: +972-3-6021184
    My Fax Number is: +972-9-9587360
    My Home Telephone Number is: +972-56-546756
    Azriel Roy



    To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject
    and Body of the message will be ignored.


    Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to
    http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/




    This message has been scanned by WebShield. Please report SPAM to
    abuse@p....
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-07-20 18:51
    Also, Hyperterm raises the DTR signal, which
    is used by the BS2 as a 'reset'. Holding it
    active will hold the BS2 in reset.

    You can put a switch on pin-4. Open lets
    hyperterm talk to the BS2. Closed lets
    the PC program the BS2.

    The board of education (BOE) has a capacitor on
    it which should only allow one reset when you
    first connect Hyperterm.

    --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, "Jon Williams" <jwilliams@p...>
    wrote:
    > The reason you're having problems with HyperTerminal is that the
    > built-in level-shifter on the BS2 programming port "borrows" power
    from
    > the serial connection and in the process causes anything sent to
    the BS2
    > to be echoed back. The Stamp Editor terminal knows how to deal with
    > this. I haven't worked with HyperTerminal in quite a while, but I
    > believe you can turn off the local character display. That way,
    when
    > you enter a character in HT, what you'll actually get onscreen is
    the
    > echoed character from the Stamp. That said, you will always see
    > something -- there's no way to use a generic terminal with the
    Stamp's
    > programming port an not see at least one character.
    >
    > -- Jon Williams
    > -- Parallax
    >
    >
    >
    Original Message
    > From: Roy Azriel [noparse][[/noparse]mailto:royaz@z...]
    > Sent: Sunday, July 20, 2003 12:52 AM
    > To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    > Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Help
    >
    >
    > Hello,
    > I am a new user of basic stamp. Having some problems with the
    > communication in my first steps in BS2. I am using SERIN and SEROUT
    > command both through the debug communication port (Rx=Tx=16). While
    > Running my application in the BS2 environment everything works well-
    > transmitting and receiving. Doing the thing through the hyper
    terminal
    > is making problems. I receive well but the transition of character
    is
    > not working properly. Do I have to use other digital ports (P0, P1
    > Etc..) and not the debug one
    > (16) in order to communicate through the debug port when I am not
    > working through the BS2 editor ?
    >
    > Thank You
    >
    >
    > My Home Telephone Number is: +972-3-6021184
    > My Fax Number is: +972-9-9587360
    > My Home Telephone Number is: +972-56-546756
    > Azriel Roy
    >
    >
    >
    >
    > To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    > from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the
    Subject
    > and Body of the message will be ignored.
    >
    >
    > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to
    > http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
    >
    >
    >
    >
    > This message has been scanned by WebShield. Please report SPAM to
    > abuse@p...
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-07-20 18:55
    Thank you for your response.
    Actually I already over come this problem by writing somthing in VB. I am
    still having problems receiving what is expected, I am getting charecters
    that have not been sent.
    My application is supposed to connect to motorola modem called io1000 I
    still can not establish connection between the BS2 abd the modem.
    Now I suppose the problem is that I have to put a converter from TTL level
    to standad serial values, am I write ?



    Original Message
    From: Jon Williams [noparse]/noparse]mailto:[url=http://forums.parallaxinc.com/group/basicstamps/post?postID=AzX-0AcuczAh-mNBHGwoDSx1VLkLn-qsNvgZPfcMJUaKZKc9fFUw5a03-6zMvp0CLb8rx1unlykcxU0YAGs]jwilliams@p...[/url
    Sent: Sunday, July 20, 2003 5:53 PM
    To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    Subject: RE: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Help


    The reason you're having problems with HyperTerminal is that the
    built-in level-shifter on the BS2 programming port "borrows" power from
    the serial connection and in the process causes anything sent to the BS2
    to be echoed back. The Stamp Editor terminal knows how to deal with
    this. I haven't worked with HyperTerminal in quite a while, but I
    believe you can turn off the local character display. That way, when
    you enter a character in HT, what you'll actually get onscreen is the
    echoed character from the Stamp. That said, you will always see
    something -- there's no way to use a generic terminal with the Stamp's
    programming port an not see at least one character.

    -- Jon Williams
    -- Parallax


    Original Message
    From: Roy Azriel [noparse]/noparse]mailto:[url=http://forums.parallaxinc.com/group/basicstamps/post?postID=EQHQDmYgLrfx_5q2fr1Q8MHodOAYGZurQhB_fI05QDAczBmpk3e57GTHrHOWVv6eBF4HwT1zt7j1]royaz@z...[/url
    Sent: Sunday, July 20, 2003 12:52 AM
    To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Help


    Hello,
    I am a new user of basic stamp. Having some problems with the
    communication in my first steps in BS2. I am using SERIN and SEROUT
    command both through the debug communication port (Rx=Tx=16). While
    Running my application in the BS2 environment everything works well-
    transmitting and receiving. Doing the thing through the hyper terminal
    is making problems. I receive well but the transition of character is
    not working properly. Do I have to use other digital ports (P0, P1
    Etc..) and not the debug one
    (16) in order to communicate through the debug port when I am not
    working through the BS2 editor ?

    Thank You

    My Home Telephone Number is: +972-3-6021184
    My Fax Number is: +972-9-9587360
    My Home Telephone Number is: +972-56-546756
    Azriel Roy



    To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject
    and Body of the message will be ignored.


    Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to
    http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/




    This message has been scanned by WebShield. Please report SPAM to
    abuse@p....




    To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and
    Body of the message will be ignored.


    Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-07-20 23:07
    1. When you talk out the BS2 '16' port, you
    must use an 'inverting' baud rate. (84 + 16384)

    2. Yes, the Max232 chip is a fairly typical
    TTL to 232 and 232 to TTL chip. It takes 4
    1 uF capacitors to run off 5 volts. Yes,
    you'll probably need one of these to talk
    to the Modem. On the other hand, the
    MAX3110 is an SPI interfaced UART with a
    232 drivers built in (takes a 3.686 MHz
    crystal and 2 caps for an oscillator),
    and it holds 8 bytes in its buffers
    -- this might be a more successful
    chip to talk to the modem through.

    3. The BS2 is a 'single tasking' beast, so
    you can talk, or listen, but you can't do
    both (unless you use a UART). You can
    use timeouts, or the 'FlagPin',
    to reduce the amount of time the BS2 waits
    around while nothing is happening.

    --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, "Roy Azriel" <royaz@z...> wrote:
    > Thank you for your response.
    > Actually I already over come this problem by writing somthing in
    VB. I am
    > still having problems receiving what is expected, I am getting
    charecters
    > that have not been sent.
    > My application is supposed to connect to motorola modem called
    io1000 I
    > still can not establish connection between the BS2 abd the modem.
    > Now I suppose the problem is that I have to put a converter from
    TTL level
    > to standad serial values, am I write ?
    >
    >
    >
    >
    Original Message
    > From: Jon Williams [noparse][[/noparse]mailto:jwilliams@p...]
    > Sent: Sunday, July 20, 2003 5:53 PM
    > To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    > Subject: RE: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Help
    >
    >
    > The reason you're having problems with HyperTerminal is that the
    > built-in level-shifter on the BS2 programming port "borrows" power
    from
    > the serial connection and in the process causes anything sent to
    the BS2
    > to be echoed back. The Stamp Editor terminal knows how to deal with
    > this. I haven't worked with HyperTerminal in quite a while, but I
    > believe you can turn off the local character display. That way,
    when
    > you enter a character in HT, what you'll actually get onscreen is
    the
    > echoed character from the Stamp. That said, you will always see
    > something -- there's no way to use a generic terminal with the
    Stamp's
    > programming port an not see at least one character.
    >
    > -- Jon Williams
    > -- Parallax
    >
    >
    >
    Original Message
    > From: Roy Azriel [noparse][[/noparse]mailto:royaz@z...]
    > Sent: Sunday, July 20, 2003 12:52 AM
    > To: basicstamps@yahoogroups.com
    > Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Help
    >
    >
    > Hello,
    > I am a new user of basic stamp. Having some problems with the
    > communication in my first steps in BS2. I am using SERIN and SEROUT
    > command both through the debug communication port (Rx=Tx=16). While
    > Running my application in the BS2 environment everything works well-
    > transmitting and receiving. Doing the thing through the hyper
    terminal
    > is making problems. I receive well but the transition of character
    is
    > not working properly. Do I have to use other digital ports (P0, P1
    > Etc..) and not the debug one
    > (16) in order to communicate through the debug port when I am not
    > working through the BS2 editor ?
    >
    > Thank You
    >
    >
    > My Home Telephone Number is: +972-3-6021184
    > My Fax Number is: +972-9-9587360
    > My Home Telephone Number is: +972-56-546756
    > Azriel Roy
    >
    >
    >
    >
    > To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    > from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the
    Subject
    > and Body of the message will be ignored.
    >
    >
    > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to
    > http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
    >
    >
    >
    >
    > This message has been scanned by WebShield. Please report SPAM to
    > abuse@p...
    >
    >
    >
    >
    > To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    > basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    > from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the
    Subject and
    > Body of the message will be ignored.
    >
    >
    > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to
    http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2003-12-06 06:20
    Hello to all you.
    I buy one cmos camera (B&W), whit two outputs; one digital, and other
    analogic
    Well i have the BasicStamp II, and i can one help if you have one program
    to transfer the digital out to BSII
    Much Obliged
    W@GNER
Sign In or Register to comment.