Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Newsgroup ?? — Parallax Forums

Newsgroup ??

ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
edited 2000-09-23 12:21 in General Discussion
An email list does not require you to be "connected" to the net to read
the messages where a usenet group does. With that, you are governed by
connection speed, net congestion, server speed along with other factors.
It is nice to not be tied to an ethernet or isdn cable to be able to read
these posts. Many times I will read then in my work van while between
service calls in the next state.

Just my .02,

Dale Harwood [noparse][[/noparse] N4VFF ]

internet> dale@h...

ax.25> n4vff@n4vff.#cha.tn.usa.noam

#include <std_disclaimer.h>

Comments

• ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2000-09-22 16:31
    At 07:45 AM 9/22/2000 -0500, you wrote:
    Hello,

My name is Nagi Babu. I'm a software consultant living inMinnesota, USA. I'm also a robot hobbyist. I own a www domain that Imanage and use to provide free web sites, news groups, etc., to myfriends and family members.

I have participated in this Basic Stamp - message forum fora few months now and have realized that it is way too complicated tofollow a conversation thread. For example, when I post a question, Iusually care to follow-up on just my conversation thread. I also do careabout looking up on the other conversations based on the subject line onthe posted message. Since this forum acts like a message board, ourmail-boxes fill up fairly quickly - but, most importantly, it gets verydifficult to read up on your conversation when those emails flood yourin-box - I guess, most of us agree to this.