Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Servo — Parallax Forums

Servo

ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
edited 2004-05-20 15:30 in General Discussion
Goodevening i am back in town.
Can i modifie a servo that now don't rotate?
it's a servo from Robbe.

kind Regards
Willem

Comments

  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2004-05-11 14:42
    How could I wire up a servo to work on a switch with out useing the
    BS2
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2004-05-11 15:45
    I don't think you can.
    The Servo wants signal which is normally
    at 0 volts. The positioning signal is a
    high pulse -- where the pulse width
    specifies the position. It wants the pulse
    repeated every 20 mSec to 50 mSec.

    For example, to center a servo requires a
    1.5 mSec pulse. You can easily generate
    this with a BS2 with PULSOUT ServoPin, 750
    (since the BS2 PULSOUT counts in 2 uSec
    intervals).

    So:
    ServoLoop:
    PULSEOUT ServoPin, 750
    PAUSE 20
    GOTO ServoLoop

    The Servo works this way because vendors
    have made radio-controlled equipment for
    model planes and cars and boats which
    generates and uses this kind of signal.

    I suppose you could purchase a Futaba
    radio control set, and use its equipment
    to move the servo.

    Otherwise, there is no way in the world
    that you can throw a switch on for 1.5 mSec
    +- 2 uSec, then turn it off, then wait
    20 mSec, then do it again. As a human,
    you simply can't cycle that fast.

    --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, "uebermenchens"
    <uebermenchens@a...> wrote:
    > How could I wire up a servo to work on a switch with out useing the
    > BS2
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2004-05-11 18:30
    You could use a 555 timer with an inverted output.

    Thad

    > --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, "uebermenchens"
    > <uebermenchens@a...> wrote:
    > > How could I wire up a servo to work on a switch
    > with out useing the BS2





    __________________________________
    Do you Yahoo!?
    Win a $20,000 Career Makeover at Yahoo! HotJobs
    http://hotjobs.sweepstakes.yahoo.com/careermakeover
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2004-05-11 22:12
    If your intention is to make the servo move to two different positions
    depending on the position of a switch, you could use a 555 timer
    circuit. You could use the switch to select different resistors to
    vary the pulse width to the servo. If you just want on and off, you
    could also use a 555 timer circuit to move the servo. The difference
    is that when the power is shut off the servo will not return to where
    it was. Hope this helps.
    Lee




    --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, "uebermenchens"
    <uebermenchens@a...> wrote:
    > How could I wire up a servo to work on a switch with out useing the
    > BS2
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2004-05-13 14:23
    How can I wire up an unmodified servo that rotates 180 degrees to
    rotate 15 degrees per hour. I tried to modify to pulse count but it
    didn't work

    Mark
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2004-05-14 17:22
    > How can I wire up an unmodified servo that rotates 180 degrees to
    > rotate 15 degrees per hour. I tried to modify to pulse count but it
    > didn't work

    You could wire two 555's; The first to sweep a voltage to represent the 15
    degrees per hour (or you could just use a cheap R/C timer) and use that
    voltage to control the phase of the second 555; this one wired as an
    asynchronous PWM generator. (You could also use a dual 555, the 556).

    What do you want it to do when it hits the 180 degree limit? Reset to zero?
    Sweep back to zero at 15 degrees per hour? Or just stop?
    --
    Enjoy,
    George Warner,
    Schizophrenic Optimization Scientists
    Apple Developer Technical Support (DTS)
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2004-05-14 22:28
    When it hits 180 I would like it to stop

    mark
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2004-05-19 23:15
    I truly can't grasp or understand how to get a servo to rotate 15
    degrees per hour on a 180 degree motor? How can I do It? Is there
    a simpler way?

    Mark
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2004-05-20 15:02
    1. You need to realize that you can't set the
    servo to 'degrees', you can only sent it pulses
    which move it to certain positions.

    2. Having said that, there certainly must be a
    mapping between pulse width and degrees. Thus
    if a 1 mS pulse is far left, and a 2 mSec pulse
    is far right (180 degrees) then 1.5 mSec is 90
    degrees, etc. You should be able to draw a
    linear graph of pulse width to degrees position.

    The equation of a line is: Y = mX + b, where
    'b' is an offset (1 mSec) and 'm' is the slope
    (in this case, 1 mS/180 degrees is 5.555 uSec
    per degree).

    So, 15 degrees would be (15 * 5.5555 uSec) +
    1 mSec, or 1083 uSec.

    3. So, for a 180 degree sweep, 15 degrees per
    hour mean you'll do the entire sweep in 12 hours.
    You knew this, of course.

    4. So, the first hour goes from 0 degrees
    (1000uSec) to 15 degrees (1083 uSec). Now you
    just have to divide that into 2 uSec 'steps',
    use the BS2 to 'PAUSE' that long, and then increment
    a 'step' variable by 2 uS and output it to the
    servo.

    Oh, by the way, the servo wants to be refreshed
    every 20 mSec to 50 mSec -- so you may add up
    20 mSec 'pause' 'ticks' to get the number of
    seconds per 'step'.

    --- In basicstamps@yahoogroups.com, "uebermenchens"
    <uebermenchens@a...> wrote:
    > I truly can't grasp or understand how to get a servo to rotate 15
    > degrees per hour on a 180 degree motor? How can I do It? Is there
    > a simpler way?
    >
    > Mark
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2004-05-20 15:30
    You'll have to figure out what Pulsout value you need for 15,30,45....degrees from one end.
    Set servo to one end
    Send to 15 degree position
    Wait 1 hour
    Send to 30 degree position
    Wait 1 hour
    ...and so on

    >
    > I truly can't grasp or understand how to get a servo to rotate 15
    > degrees per hour on a 180 degree motor? How can I do It? Is there a
    > simpler way?
    >
    > Mark

    Mike DeMetz N9GEZ
    Elkhart, IN
    mailto:n9gez@q...
    http://www.qsl.net/n9gez
Sign In or Register to comment.