serial pin outs — Parallax Forums

serial pin outs

ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
edited 2000-08-09 05:41 in General Discussion
Since the BSII uses a serial interface for programming, it is unlikely that
you will be able to use the parallel port on your PC. Installing another
Serial I/O card in your PC is probably the best and cheapest bet. (The BS1,
however, uses the parrallel (LPT1) port for programming). Regarding the pin
outs for the serial port, check the Samp Manual page 212.

>
Original Message
> From: JOHN & LISA [noparse]/noparse]SMTP:[url=http://forums.parallaxinc.com/group/basicstamps/post?postID=-85zGV_hnvukTNLGLFehJMboTe5AXbORB2xSphTBzBMUCrykSR8b8MBxAsc2P_VkzVr8xCp4ohbdQNxkTuo]johnlisa@c...[/url
> Sent: Wednesday,9 August 2000 1:28
> To: basicstamps@egroups.com
> Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] serial pin outs
>
> I'm very new to computers but an old hand at electronics, and i've started
> to build my own version of boebot, but I need to know if the BSII can be
> programmed from LPT1. As I've only one serial port and the mouse uses
> that. I'm also using a home made version of the board of education, which
> may be half my problem, but I cant test this until I know the pin outs for
> the serial port and LPT1 if it can be programmed from this. Good luck to
> everybody in the forum with all current and future projects.
>

Comments

• ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2000-08-09 04:27
    I'm very new to computers but an old hand at electronics, and i've started to build my own version of boebot, but I need to know if the BSII can be programmed from·LPT1. As I've only one·serial port and the mouse uses that. I'm also using a home made version of the board of education, which may be half my problem, but I cant test this until I know the pin outs for the serial port and LPT1 if it can be programmed from this. Good luck to everybody in the forum with all current and future projects.
    edited 2000-08-09 04:39