Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
PLease Help — Parallax Forums

PLease Help

ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
edited 2002-04-12 05:49 in General Discussion
I am in need of quick help. I need to program the stamp II to drive
two 4-coil, unipolar steppers. I've been trying several things but i
am such a beginner at the code that i'm lost. If anyone has any
examples that I could see and follow I would be very thankful. If
anyone would mind giving some time to help me with their services, I
would gladly give my services if you need any multimedia publishing,
web pages, or any amateur video editing. Thanks.

Paul Sagona

Comments

  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2000-04-17 16:06
    Here is the code based on application #6 I use with my IISX. Works fine.
    The only thing you may need to change (that I can think of) would be the
    baud rate.

    If anyone has any suggestions on how to modify this code to run two motors,
    simultaneously, each with a different # of steps and different pause delays
    I would like to see them. Thanks.

    Directn var byte
    Steps var word
    i var word
    Delay var byte
    Dir_cmd var byte
    N2400 con 17405
    Temp var byte

    dirs = %01000011 : outs = %00000001
    temp = %00000001 : Directn = "+"
    goto Prompt ' Display prompt.

    Cmd: serin 16,N2400,[noparse][[/noparse]Dir_cmd,dec Steps,dec Delay]
    if Dir_cmd = Directn then Stepit
    Temp = Temp^%00000011

    Stepit: for i = 1 to Steps
    outs = outs^temp
    Temp = Temp^%00000011
    pause Delay
    next
    Directn = Dir_cmd

    Prompt: serout 16,N2400,[noparse][[/noparse]10,13,"step> "]
    goto Cmd


    Geoff Penna

    Original Message
    From: <exarkun@r...>
    To: <basicstamps@egroups.com>
    Sent: Monday, April 17, 2000 10:27 AM
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] PLease Help


    > I am in need of quick help. I need to program the stamp II to drive
    > two 4-coil, unipolar steppers. I've been trying several things but i
    > am such a beginner at the code that i'm lost. If anyone has any
    > examples that I could see and follow I would be very thankful. If
    > anyone would mind giving some time to help me with their services, I
    > would gladly give my services if you need any multimedia publishing,
    > web pages, or any amateur video editing. Thanks.
    >
    > Paul Sagona
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2000-04-17 19:18
    Paul,
    I believe you'll find a nice technical note in the Stamp1 apps. section that
    shows the stepper motor coil phase sequence. I used this info and drove a
    FET switch directly from a STAMP 1 to do exactly what you want to do. Just
    program a loop to constantly output the sequence from a table stored with
    the phase sequence. To speed up or slow down use pause statements, to
    reverse direction just output the table in reverse. Switching steppers can
    be noisey electrically speaking so you may want to isolate the stamp either
    with a IGFET or optical isolator if noise becomes a problem. If I can find
    the code I'll send it to you.

    Original Message
    From: exarkun@r... <exarkun@r...>
    To: basicstamps@egroups.com <basicstamps@egroups.com>
    Date: Monday, April 17, 2000 10:28 AM
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] PLease Help


    >I am in need of quick help. I need to program the stamp II to drive
    >two 4-coil, unipolar steppers. I've been trying several things but i
    >am such a beginner at the code that i'm lost. If anyone has any
    >examples that I could see and follow I would be very thankful. If
    >anyone would mind giving some time to help me with their services, I
    >would gladly give my services if you need any multimedia publishing,
    >web pages, or any amateur video editing. Thanks.
    >
    >Paul Sagona
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2000-12-17 21:32
    hi,

    I am building a robot with the parallax and scenix equipment which
    includes a SX28AC/DP and 2 servos. How do I test the servos? The
    program that I am running gives a memory access error when I try to
    load the program into the robot. I have more details, but I'm not
    sure which details you need to answer my question, so please let me
    know. I am on the servo calibration part of the project.

    thanks
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2000-12-17 21:44
    At 09:32 PM Sunday 12/17/2000 +0000, you wrote:
    >hi,
    >
    >I am building a robot with the parallax and scenix equipment which
    >includes a SX28AC/DP and 2 servos. How do I test the servos? The
    >program that I am running gives a memory access error when I try to
    >load the program into the robot. I have more details, but I'm not
    >sure which details you need to answer my question, so please let me
    >know. I am on the servo calibration part of the project.
    >
    >thanks
    Fractal -

    Is this one of the Parallax Robotic platforms ?

    Which firmware platform are you using Parallax Stamp Modules or Scenix
    Microprocessors when the error is indicated ? If the Stamp Modules, which one ?

    What is the exact text of the error ?

    Are you using a carrier board, if so which one ?

    Which version of the Editor are you using ?

    That should be a start.

    Regards,

    Bruce Bates
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2000-12-17 22:04
    Hi,

    > Is this one of the Parallax Robotic platforms ?

    Yes, it is the SX Tech Bot.

    > Which firmware platform are you using Parallax Stamp Modules or
    > Scenix Microprocessors when the error is indicated ? If the Stamp
    > Modules, which one ?

    It has the SX28AC/DP as well as the SX-Key/Blitz!. I am using the
    Stamp Modules II. (Scenix SX20AC/SS AB9931AA)

    > What is the exact text of the error ?

    Access violation at address 004643AE in module 'SXKEY28L.EXE'. Write
    of address 01FB1E6B.

    > Are you using a carrier board, if so which one ?

    I have an SX Tech Bot. I think they call it a BOE Bot. It has a ping
    pong ball for a back wheel with 2 servos attached to 2 larger side
    wheels. It has 4 AA batteries that go underneath it as well as a
    AC/DC adapter from the wall. There is a serial DB/9 connection to the
    SX-Key.

    > Which version of the Editor are you using ?

    The Byte Craft IDE Version 1.1 Build 5 is where I create a project,
    open a C file, and attempt to load the program to the robot.

    Thanks
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2000-12-17 22:52
    At 10:04 PM Sunday 12/17/2000 +0000, you wrote:
    >Hi,
    >
    > > Is this one of the Parallax Robotic platforms ?
    >
    >Yes, it is the SX Tech Bot.
    >
    > > Which firmware platform are you using Parallax Stamp Modules or
    > > Scenix Microprocessors when the error is indicated ? If the Stamp
    > > Modules, which one ?
    >
    >It has the SX28AC/DP as well as the SX-Key/Blitz!. I am using the
    >Stamp Modules II. (Scenix SX20AC/SS AB9931AA)
    >

    This group is generally limited to support and discussion of Basic Stamps.
    The Website for Stamp products is found at [noparse][[/noparse] http://www.parallainc.com ] .

    The Stamps In Class discussion group is found at
    [noparse][[/noparse] http://www.egroups.com/stampsinclass ] and an easy way
    to subscribe to that group is to visit the Stamps In Class website at
    [noparse][[/noparse] http://www.stampsinclass.com ] and punch Discuss / EMail.
    As far as I'm aware the SX-Tech 'Bot is often discussed there.

    Support by Parallax SX-Team can be found by sending E-Mail as follows:
    [noparse][[/noparse] mailto:sxtech@p... ]

    the SX-Tech website is at [noparse][[/noparse] www.sxtech.com ] and a FAQ can be found their
    regarding programming the Scenix SX chips with the SX-Blitz.

    Other than that, perhaps one of the List Members here may use the Byte Craft
    IDE platform you are using, and can offer some assistance. I don't, so I'm
    sorry I couldn't have been of more help.

    Regards,

    Bruce Bates
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2000-12-18 00:18
    Thanks
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-04-11 17:23
    I am using the stamp to drive the MAX7219 7 SEGMENT driver chip. I
    am having no problem communicating with the MAX7219 via the
    synchronous serial method.. THe problem that I am having is that I am
    using the MAX7219 to drive a 6.8V/segment LED display. The MAX7219
    is made to output 5V or so. I am wondering if there is a buffer or
    something that i can use that will take the logic level 5v from the
    MAX7219 and give me the current and voltage that I need at the
    output. I am nearing the deadline here and I need to get this to work.

    Thanks,
    J
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-04-11 17:38
    For Jay Mann

    I am using the 7219 to drive 7-segment displays for 5V. You should be able
    to drive the 6.8V units - they will just be a bit dimmer. If they are too
    dim you might try gradually decreasing the 10K resistor tied to LSET.
    Remember - use a separate power supply for the LEDs. The amount of current
    they draw would fry a Stamp.

    Sid


    [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-04-11 17:40
    Jay, a little addon. Fairchild has a multiplex 4-digit display and a
    multiplex 3-digit display available at DigiKey. That is what I am using.

    Sid


    [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-04-11 18:38
    The ULN2803 will probably work just fine for you. Just be aware that it
    inverts the signal.

    -- Jon Williams
    -- Parallax


    In a message dated 4/11/02 11:30:04 AM Central Daylight Time,
    jay_mann2000@y... writes:


    > I am using the stamp to drive the MAX7219 7 SEGMENT driver chip. I
    > am having no problem communicating with the MAX7219 via the
    > synchronous serial method.. THe problem that I am having is that I am
    > using the MAX7219 to drive a 6.8V/segment LED display. The MAX7219
    > is made to output 5V or so. I am wondering if there is a buffer or
    > something that i can use that will take the logic level 5v from the
    > MAX7219 and give me the current and voltage that I need at the
    >




    [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2002-04-12 05:49
    Sid,
    The MAX only allows for a sourcing of 5V. It's outputs aren't designed for
    operation beyond that... Have you used one with success without them....???
    Thanks,
    J

    Newzed@a... wrote: Jay, a little addon. Fairchild has a multiplex 4-digit
    display and a
    multiplex 3-digit display available at DigiKey. That is what I am using.

    Sid


    [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


    To UNSUBSCRIBE, just send mail to:
    basicstamps-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
    from the same email address that you subscribed. Text in the Subject and Body of
    the message will be ignored.


    Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/




    Do You Yahoo!?
    Yahoo! Tax Center - online filing with TurboTax

    [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
Sign In or Register to comment.