Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Heat. — Parallax Forums

Heat.

Andy BAndy B Posts: 17
edited 2009-04-19 04:49 in BASIC Stamp
Hi there i am new to the Stamp, i just bought a Stamp2SX and Board of Education second hand.
It works fine when i connect to my PC and it recognises the chip, My Question is when i connect a 9V batterie to it the stamp seems to get a bit Hot! is this normal? or should i use some sort of heat sink?

many thanx blush.gif

Comments

• Mike CookMike Cook Posts: 829
    edited 2004-08-22 23:32

Not to be stupid, but describe Hot, like the voltage regulator on the BOE or the Stamp itself? Look for any user modifications on the BOE or the Stamp, if you bought it used, you may need to go to the Parallax site and download the docs and correct any previous user modifications if there are any.

I use a BS2p24 on a board that I built from the schematic from the Parallax site. I used the parts as called out in the schematic diagram, the regulator gets warm (warmer than body temp but holding it won't burn me) also the BS2p24 gets a little warm but not enough to be concerned about. If yours is getting to hot to touch where it is painful after a few seconds, (A) your a wimp! wink.gif or (B) there's something wrong with the BOE or the Stamp!

Mike

Post Edited (Mike Cook) : 8/22/2004 11:49:06 PM GMT
  • Andy BAndy B Posts: 17
    edited 2004-08-22 23:47
    Thanx mike.
    the BOE has had no modifications neither has the Stamp

The stamp itself gets hot with a 9V battery, i just read that·the Stamp·has a onboard regulator so it could be that huh?

Its Hot as in hot to the touch, and keeping finger on it for a while you feel it.

Its not the regulator on the BOE.

thanx
    edited 2004-08-22 23:52
    I've got my BS2p24 running right now, give me a few and I'll mesaure it's temp (STAMP CHIP)

Mike
    edited 2004-08-23 00:04