Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Ds2436 — Parallax Forums

Ds2436

adaleadale Posts: 6
edited 2013-10-13 08:50 in BASIC Stamp
I have a DS2436 1-wire chip that I am trying to read the counter register ($80) with a BS2p.· The chip is hooked up to a battery and I need to see if the battery back is not charging because of the counter being maxed out or if it is something else. I can look at the SN ($33) and read some of the registers but I really have no idea what I am looking at since Dallas Semi/Maxium makes it so hard to do this.· Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

adale

Comments

• bobhillierbobhillier Posts: 27
    edited 2004-08-17 19:57
    I am a beginner with 1-wire technology myself. I have programmed a number of 1-wire circuits on my BS2p PRO board and been successful with temperature, memory and RTC. I have not been successful with a wired connection via the RJ-11 connector due to signal integrity on my wires. I am investigating solutions and will post my results.
    ·
    To work with your DS2436...
    ·
    Read the spec at http://pdfserv.maxim-ic.com/en/ds/DS2436.pdf
    They have some excellent byte sequences to accomplish your task. They also have other docs that could prove useful. See http://www.maxim-ic.com/quick_view2.cfm/qv_pk/2917.
    Try the example 1-wire experiments in the BS2p board docs and other Parallax docs. Those examples are excellent to get you going.
    ·
    If you're working with wires more than 12-18 inches long then you may see some transmission line effects impacting your communications (or so my current level of research suggests). There are solutions that apparently work but I have not completed my investigations.
    ·
    Bob, Ottawa

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    ······ Bob, Ottawa
    W75 54 17·· N45 18 30
    ·········· G16 #27
  • adaleadale Posts: 6
    edited 2004-08-18 15:23