Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Trying to build a "pinspotter" simulator - newbie - any help is appreciated! — Parallax Forums

Trying to build a "pinspotter" simulator - newbie - any help is appreciated!

wb8yjfwb8yjf Posts: 4
edited 2004-08-03 00:47 in BASIC Stamp
Hi all, I am a newbie to the stamps, I have over 30 years experience in electronics though. Here is what I am trying to do: I service bowling alley electronics and am trying to make a stamp based "pinspotter" simulator. I already have the assembly built complete with LCD and 4 buttons for inputs as well as a relay driver for outputs. Operation of a pinspotter is pretty straightforward, basically no more than 8 inputs (6 of which determine where the table· & sweep positions during the machine cycle) and the outputs are (2) 110VAC to run 2 motor/gear assys.·and a few 12VDC for lights.· My goal is to have a system where a menu scrolls thru 4 screens with various operations (ie: 1st ball cycle, 2nd ball cycle, strike, etc). I want to set the menus up with 3 options and a "next menu" screen, after going thru all 4 screens, back to the 1st.· I believe this could all be done with sub routines selected by a corresponding switch and then sequencing the relays in the proper order to simulate the inputs on the machine. One thing I can't seem to grasp is scanning the switches while the menu(s) are being displayed and how to "stop" the displayed menu and wait for a switch to be pressed to move on to the next menu or go to the subroutine..I know this is a lot easier than I'm thinking, but with all the electronics floating around in my noodle, I am blanking out on writing code...freaked.gif· I have gotten to the point where I can sequence the relays in what ever order I want and the timing of them too. Any suggestions? This thing would make my life a LOT easier! Now I have to physically put the control chassis on a pinspotter and run it at the bowling alley..pain in the Smile (PLUS a lot of driving). BTW, the ou