Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
controlling conveyor — Parallax Forums

controlling conveyor

kb2hapkb2hap Posts: 218
edited 2004-08-01 12:52 in BASIC Stamp
I'm starting a project where I want to control an small conveyor It has 7- dc motors· (90vdc) and 7 sets of diffused photo eye sensors. I am fairly new to basic stamps and I was wondering If anyone had any info on completed projects similar to this.· I'm guessing that I will need a darlington array to drive the relays for the motors. I dont think the photoeyes can directly integrate to the stamp pins due to the current draw. I belive there running 12vdc at 200ma max. this conveyor will run as accumulation but have options to control it with a foot pedal and also to send a signal so that you can hook more than 1 conveyor together.· I working on what is a microcontroller. and also have stampworks to thrust my programming capabilities into high gear (i'm used to AB PLC's) any help would be great thanks
dan

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
DTQ

Comments

• steve_bsteve_b Posts: 1,563
    edited 2004-07-31 01:43
    I think someone will send you a URL to a "stamp industrial control" board with up to 16 relays supported.· So that'd solve some issues there!!

As far as the optic eyes.....you could use a separate power source for those and just tie the photodetecter to your input pin (use proper current limiting resistors).

Be sure to check the datasheets on your opto's.· Make sure that you're not gonna commit Stamp Hari Kari...might look at optoisolators to your pins.· Again, too many and your stamp supply will reach it's limit.

I've always wanted to try a conveyor like system but don't have one to work on....cool project!

You'll probably run in to issues with noise from your motors...did you say they were dc or ac?· anyhow....give 'er a go and see what you can do!

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔

Steve
    http://members.rogers.com/steve.brady
    http://www.geocities.com/paulsopenstage