Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Amplifying piezo speaker — Parallax Forums

Amplifying piezo speaker

StuckStuck Posts: 2
edited 2009-03-19 16:06 in Learn with BlocklyProp
I'm very new to the Basic Stamp and programming world in general.·
I've been going thru the "What's a Microcontroller" book labs.· I would like to know, and get any ideas/clues on how I can amplify the sound from the piezo speaker.· Nothing outrageous, just a way to increase the volume from what I can get from the piezo alone.

Thanks!

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
--STucK!

Comments

• Aristides AlvarezAristides Alvarez Posts: 486
    edited 2004-07-25 23:44
    Usually piezospeakers are conected directly to microcontroller output pins and for that reason they're really easy to use.
    You'll sense an increase in volume when you get closer to their resonating frequency (3kHz to 5kHz).

When you want more power (at any frequency), the easiest solution is to use a driver (for example, LM386 IC).

Once you use an amplifier, you'll have to switch from a piezospeaker to a standard speaker.
    (only whe you use a driver as the LM386!!!)

From a speaker you will obtain better sound quality and also wider frequency response.

We have an AppMod that will allow you fast testing (if you have a board with AppMod connector; the HomeWork Board doesn't have it):
    http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=29143

You can look at the documentation how to build your own circuit using the LM386 in your prototyping area.
    If you want even more documentation about the LM386, you can visit the manufacturer website:
    http://www.national.com/pf/LM/LM386.html

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Saludos,
    Aristides Alvarez
    Education Manager
    aalvarez@parallax.com
    Parallax, Inc. www.parallax.com
    California, USA
  • Beau SchwabeBeau Schwabe Posts: 6,547
    edited 2004-08-22 00:51
    Hello,