Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
A few stamp questions. — Parallax Forums

A few stamp questions.

Bob_RBob_R Posts: 5
edited 2004-07-24 03:55 in BASIC Stamp
Hello guys and gals. I'm new to the stamp world and i had a few questions. I know that stamps are cabable of counting pulses, but is it cabable of counting pulses and differentiating the length of·a·pulse from the one before it (to reset the counter) while measuring freqency at the same time? Is a stamp also capable of running 2 or more sub routines at once ?

-Bob

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2004-07-23 23:33
    No. The BASIC Stamp is single-threaded. You can measure pulses or count them, but you can't do both at the same time (unless they're very wide pulses and you write the code yourself in PBASIC).

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
    Dallas Office
  • Bob_RBob_R Posts: 5
    edited 2004-07-24 00:00
    The pulses would get up to as fast as 100u/sec long, but they would vary in witdh. What I'm tring to do is measure speed and angular postion of a turbine shaft for a project of mine. I'm am reading the pbasic programing book, but I'm not to familar with it yet.
    edited 2004-07-24 00:12
    You won't be able to count and measure at the same time then. You may need to write your code in assembly language or use a compiler.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Dallas Office
    edited 2004-07-24 01:36
    What is the differance between pbasic and assembly language?
    edited 2004-07-24 02:05