Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Accessing the P2 system counter in Spin? — Parallax Forums

Accessing the P2 system counter in Spin?

Martin HebelMartin Hebel Posts: 1,239
edited 2023-09-06 04:34 in PASM2/Spin2 (P2)

Hi All,
Long time no play with the propeller chips.

How can I access the system counter via spin? I see an example using cnt, but when I compile it says it needs to be defined?

https://www.parallax.com/propeller/qna-mobile/Advanced/Content/CodeTeqTopics/CodeExeTime.htm

Thanks for the easy help. It's been a long night coming up to partial speed again with it after a prolonged break, where once I was a tester/early developer for the original Propeller, now I've forgotten nearly everything!

-Martin

Comments

• @"Martin Hebel" said:
    Hi All,
    Long time no play with the propeller chips.

How can I access the system counter via spin? I see an example using cnt, but when I compile it says it needs to be defined?

https://www.parallax.com/propeller/qna-mobile/Advanced/Content/CodeTeqTopics/CodeExeTime.htm

Thanks for the easy help. It's been a long night coming up to partial speed again with it after a prolonged break, where once I was a tester/early developer for the original Propeller, now I've forgotten nearly everything!

-Martin

On the P2 use getct(), for example create a variable called Count and do the following:

Count := getct()

• Thanks! Very Java-esq.

• JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,940
    edited 2023-09-06 16:00

Welcome back, Martin. There is a lot to like with the P2, and Spin2 is very nice. If you don't need system tick resolution, you can get the current milliseconds since reboot with

t0 := getms()

Or, if you want to go the other way, you can use P2's inline assembly feature to get all 64 bits of the system counter (returned as two longs)

pub getct64() : lo, hi

org
                            getct     hi                    wc      ' get system counter
                            getct     lo 
      end