Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
1 byte data via Rs485 to P1 — Parallax Forums

1 byte data via Rs485 to P1

Looking for a tutorial or simple explanation of getting data from a sensor to P1 via Rs485. I'm new to RS485.
Thanks
Aaron

Comments

• RS-485 is a hardware interface. On the P1/controller side, you're either sending or receiving serial data. Do you have a link to the datasheet of the sensor? I've attached a half-duplex RS-485 object that I use in my projects.

• Thanks Jon. I'll study your code with data sheet in hand.
    Aaron

• Is it a top-secret device? :D

RS-485 is a shared bus, so I'm betting it's sending more than one byte.

• It's for my weather station. I have tower mounted sensors that are displayed on a monitor in my basement. I'm looking for a more stable means of communication between the two locations. Most of the outputs from the sensors are or can be represented by bytes, hence a way to send bytes of data is what I'm trying to achieve.
    Thanks
    Aaron

• evanhevanh Posts: 15,423
    edited 2023-08-27 14:54

I did a quick hack just last year on the full-duplex-serial driver to manage the interface chip via just two pins. One pin for direction control and the other for half-duplex data. TX and RX pins on the interface chip get tied together.

I made no attempt to optimise nor even adjust the buffer size. It works fine when managed from a dedicated second Cog performing as 9600 baud Modbus slave function. Haven't tested it any other way.

EDIT: Oops, had the A/B pin labelling inverted in the diagram.

• evanhevanh Posts: 15,423
    edited 2023-08-27 11:29

Of course, naming it fullduplex isn't ideal but since it was a tiny change within the original driver I just added the 485 to the name. It does still perform as full-duplex when not in half-duplex mode.