Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need an inline PASM function — Parallax Forums

Need an inline PASM function

RS_JimRS_Jim Posts: 1,753
edited 2023-04-07 11:42 in PASM2/Spin2 (P2)

Can I get one of you PASM experts to create an inline function out of this equation?
`
{to clarify: x is the Var that changes each pass}
result=(x - in_min) * (out_max - out_min) / (in_max - in_min) + out_min;}

`
all of the inputs and outputs are integers with the largest being 3300 and the smallest 0. Out min is 0 and out max is 200 in min lowest is 0 highest is 3300. X is automatically constrained by the environment and will never fall outside the the in_min and in_Max.
Thanks in advance.
Jim
Edit: added some clarification

Comments

• JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,924
    edited 2023-04-07 01:04

I'm not a PASM expert, but do dabble a bit.

It sounds like you want to constrain an input between 0..3300 and scale it to 0..200.

pub scale(x) : result

x := 0 #> x <# 3300

return x * 200 / 3300

pub scale_pasm(x) : result

org
                            fges      x, #0
                            fles      x, ##3300
                            mul       x, #200
                            qdiv      x, ##3300
                            getqx     result
      end

In a timing test of both passing a variable to the method the first ran in 3.64us, the inline PASM version in 3.36us. If you need it to go faster you can install the PASM in the top part of the interpreter so you don't have the overhead of loading it every time.

Update: I tried the technique of installing the PASM code in the interpreter cog. It still requires a Spin interface, and is faster than native Spin, but not quite as fast as the inline version of the code.

• JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,924
    edited 2023-04-07 01:36

Forget all that -- this is fastest (by 2x) since you're doing a simple mx equation.

scaled := (0 #> raw <# 3300) sca 260_301_049

The value for sca is 200 / 3300 * (2^32)