Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Difficult question about Streamer — Parallax Forums

Difficult question about Streamer

Hello all!

I think I'm going to pose a question that might be difficult to answer considering I'm a newbie. I would like to know if there is a conceptual explanation of what a Streamer is and what the use cases for using it could be.

My project reads 4096 longs from hub into a cog running a process on 8 of them at a time cyclically. I wonder if instead of plainly reading them using RDLONG, I should consider using the Streamer

.t_loop
        SETQ #8-1
        RDLONG source,source_offset

{ some processing here }

JMP #.t_loop  

I've been perusing the documents but I cannot grasp the concept well enough to determine if it might be a fit for my case. Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• What it sounds like you want is the FIFO.

RDFAST #256,source_offset   ' 256 blocks of 64 bytes = 4096 longs
      .t_loop
            RFLONG source

{ some processing here }

JMP #.t_loop  

Is it a good idea? Depends on your code. If you want to process 1 long at a time, RFLONG will make that easier by writing the incoming data in the same register every time.

If your code can naturally process the blocks of 8 longs, then maybe stick with the block read.

Actually, using the FIFO might be slightly faster.
    8x RFLONG will take 16 clocks.
    RDLONG will take 9-16 clocks, plus 7 clocks for the extra longs.

The minimum clock count for RDLONG is higher that I expected.

• @jrullan I tend to think of the streamer as a DMA engine for the P2 which can be setup to operate in the background that can move data from HUB RAM to pins/DACs or from pins/ADCs to HUB RAM. In the outgoing direction towards pins it can optionally also perform a translation operation using the LUT RAM.

As far as use cases it could be used for many things including, but not limited to applications such as :