Shop Learn
New Edge module spotted in Rocklin ! — Parallax Forums

New Edge module spotted in Rocklin !

VonSzarvasVonSzarvas Posts: 2,664
edited 2022-05-12 19:13 in Propeller 2

Comments

  • PublisonPublison Posts: 12,315

    Sweet!

  • evanhevanh Posts: 12,876

    The big change is the switchmode ICs, notably less pins. Inductors changed too - Bigger? EEPROM is rotated and a new three legged part just above it.

  • Switchers are 3 Amp now. Bit more juice for high speed mayhem.

  • @evanh said:
    ...and a new three legged part just above it.

    COMPETITION TIME !

    First person with a EU delivery address to guess that part can get a test module from me when I'm done with them!

  • evanhevanh Posts: 12,876

    Speaking of the switchers, these new switchers, will they tolerate 24 Volts or instantly smoke?

    On my very first power up of my existing EC32MB I poked it with 24 Volt supply in. It didn't complain! Well, no smoke at least. :) I see that as a very good ability since 24 Volts is a normal supply voltage I use lots.

  • Wuerfel_21Wuerfel_21 Posts: 2,480
    edited 2022-05-12 22:00

    @VonSzarvas said:

    @evanh said:
    ...and a new three legged part just above it.

    COMPETITION TIME !

    First person with a EU delivery address to guess that part can get a test module from me when I'm done with them!

    Hmm, transistor to toggle power for SD or Flash?
    Not that I need one...

  • @evanh said:
    Speaking of the switchers, these new switchers, will they tolerate 24 Volts or instantly smoke?

    On my very first power up of my existing EC32MB I poked it with 24 Volt supply in. It didn't complain! Well, no smoke at least. :) I see that as a very good ability since 24 Volts is a normal supply voltage I use lots.

    Good chance they'll tolerate for a few moments, although that's out of spec for the previous and new part. As I recall 20V is abs max.

  • Not SD related. :#

  • pik33pik33 Posts: 1,512

    P38/39 LED control transistor?

  • evanhevanh Posts: 12,876

    I'll take a stab at brownout reset. Prop2 doesn't have that built in.

  • Perhaps a little clue would help... hmm.... ain?

  • roglohrogloh Posts: 4,024

    temp sensor (and if I'm correct send it to pik33)

  • ??? Power Mosfet (has a "drAIN")

  • Any more guesses before we find a winner ? Saturday feels like a good day to let the cat out the bag !

    Perhaps that last clue was too cryptic. tan?

  • JRoarkJRoark Posts: 1,019
    edited 2022-05-13 18:10

    STM1061 voltage supervisor circuit, 1.6V Active Low, Open Drain.
    Datasheet: https://www.mouser.com/datasheet/2/389/cd00065467-1796630.pdf
    (By sheer, dumb luck I have that same part in a BOM for something I have on the bench right now)

    EDIT: Evan beat me to it! lol.

  • pik33pik33 Posts: 1,512

    Voltage reference source?

  • @JRoark said:
    EDIT: Evan beat me to it! lol.

    Yes, Evan did! We have a winner !!

    @evanh ... Do you have an EU address, or would you like to nominate someone else? Please PM the details.

  • evanhevanh Posts: 12,876

    Cool. It was a total stab at the time. In hindsight, I'm now guessing the newer switchers are missing the "Power Good" outputs that the older ones had.

    Mr Roark can have it. I'm down in New Zealand.

  • JRoarkJRoark Posts: 1,019

    I really appreciate that Evan, but I’m in Texas, so I think it needs to go elsewhere. Since you are the winner, want to pick again? Lotsa good Parallaxians in the EU!

  • evanhevanh Posts: 12,876

    Oh, lol. Voltage ref is next closest guess then. Pik, you're it.

  • JRoarkJRoark Posts: 1,019

    @VonSzarvas Out of curiosity, did I correctly identify that component?

  • VonSzarvasVonSzarvas Posts: 2,664
    edited 2022-05-14 07:22

    @JRoark said:
    @VonSzarvas Out of curiosity, did I correctly identify that component?

    Spot on !
    STM1061N16WX6F

    It also appeared on the first P2-EVAL #64000 boards.

  • Hi @pik33

    If you'd like the module, please PM me your shipping details.

  • pik33pik33 Posts: 1,512
    edited 2022-05-16 06:30

    Yes, of course. I am experimenting with PSRAM stuff so having the "real thing" instead of home made 4bit contraption will help a lot :)
    I sent the mail address via the forum message system

Sign In or Register to comment.