Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Parallax RFID Reader — Parallax Forums

Parallax RFID Reader

Hi, i am new to the RFID scene.
I bought some tags and a parallax rfid reader.
My goal is to develop a simple asset tracking system for our company.

I thought that the parallax rfid is plug&play meaning if i installed the drivers and scanned a tag that the code would appear as a simple keyboard input on any program , like excel or word or notepad.
However, it seems not?
Can someone please help me in the right direction. Is there someone to enable this functionality ?

Sorry for asking stupid questions....

Comments

• which model of rfid?
  • parallax rfid reader usb REV A
  • PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2020-08-04 14:56
    There should be a 5 digit product number on the silkscreen.
    28540 or 28340?
  • kwinnkwinn Posts: 8,697
    rickusj wrote: »
    Hi, i am new to the RFID scene.
    I bought some tags and a parallax rfid reader.

I thought that the parallax rfid is plug&play meaning if i installed the drivers and scanned a tag that the code would appear as a simple keyboard input on any program , like excel or word or notepad.
    However, it seems not?
    Can someone please help me in the right direction. Is there someone to enable this functionality ?

Sorry for asking stupid questions....

The 28340 card reader receives commands via the USB connector on the board. The RFID Card Reader USB version is activated via the DTR line of the USB Virtual COM port. From page 4 of the 28140-28340-RFID-Reader- Documentation-v2.4 "When the DTR line is set HIGH, the module will enter the active state. When the DTR line is set LOW, the module will enter the idle state. With the DTR line high and a card placed near the reader it will send the card data to the computer.
  • Thanks - i read that as well , so question is how do i set the DTR line to high ?
    I cant find any DTR setting in the device manager of the virtual com port...