Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Is it practical to learn propeller in 2020 ? — Parallax Forums

Is it practical to learn propeller in 2020 ?

Hello, long time since my last post here :)

I have a kind of question which I hope I can find an answer here. Before I ask, there's some intro about my level of knowledge.

1. I know BASIC programming language fairly well, started on ZX Spectrum and currently using PicBasic Pro.
2. I have no knowledge of C/C++ and so called "new" languages which use {}[];!=!X and other non logical operators, and want to avoid learning them at all costs.
3. I have some basic ASM knowledge, starting from Z80 times and some very basic PIC16 programming.
4. I tried to use Nextion displays, but their IDE is written with rear left feet, looks like bad copy of Visual Studio and works that way too. Not good.

PBP is indeed a great programming environment, but since Darrel Taylor passed away, no one bothers to develop new code to interact with "new" hardware, such as WS2812 leds, graphical displays and so on. Of course, there are some amateur(ish) code samples available, but they are far far away from perfection and usually either require very high speeds of hardware, or you can't do anything at same time, while say, driving WS2812 leds.

So I want to have a MCU, which can do the following at same time, without me using multi-level interrupts and counting clock ticks by hand, to making timings correct and ensuring everything will work fine.

Drive these color 320x240 displays, display different text, photos, shapes (I don't meant to have GUI like windows or Android, but say having 2-3 fonts at same time should not be causing any headache).
Read data from 2-3 quadrature encoders, quite high speed, up to 2khz input frequency signal.
Read data from 2-3 analog sources (8 bit precision is enough), 3-5 times per second.
Generate 3 separate PWM signals with different frequency and duty cycle (independently adjustable all)