Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Propeller 2 Code Protection — Parallax Forums

Propeller 2 Code Protection

michaelshumichaelshu Posts: 3
edited 2019-06-11 18:59 in Propeller 2
I'm new to Propeller and evaluating Propeller 2. Is there any code protection feature built in hardware? Or anyway to implemet some software solution for code protection? I found this old forum article but not sure it's implemented in Propeller 2. https://forums.parallax.com/discussion/138403/parallax-propeller-2-code-authentication-and-protection

Comments

• cgraceycgracey Posts: 14,133
    There is no code protection.

It was planned for, using poly fuses to set up a 256-bit key, but not implemented because of likely fuse error rates. There was an alternative possibility of using some ON Semi IP to get the needed bits, but it seemed too complicated to try to implement amid all the other things needing to get done at the time.

You could fashion your own protection using a small code-protected micro, but its efficacy will be determined by the likely efforts used against it. I think if everyone came up with their own scheme, so that there was no universal attack possible, these would be reasonably secure for most purposes.
  • cgracey wrote: »
    I think if everyone came up with their own scheme, so that there was no universal attack possible, these would be reasonably secure for most purposes.

That.
    As soon as there is enough interest, any code protection WILL get cracked. IIRC most common microcontroller's code protection schemes are broken.

However, there are ways to prevent your code from being "stolen", such as:
    - Come up with your own contrived encryption/verification scheme, as chip said.
    - Hide some kind of message inside your code, so when you suspect someone has cloned your product, you can prove it.
    - Store code on a RAM chip that looses power when an intrusion is detected (of course that only works when you can service the device)