Request for help with a linear sensor driver. Assembly code challenge?

I'm thinking this may be easy for folks who know their way around Assembly and Spin; I'm a novice at Spin and have no clue with anything Assembly. Would the experts out there kindly take a whack at this?

Problem: If no magnet is present on the sensor, the Propeller "hangs up" when it tries to use the sensor. how could this driver code be changed such that the Prop doesn't wait forever for a return pulse?

Physical device description: Magnetostrictive sensor, specifically the EP2 start/stop model from MTS Sensors, found here: http://www.mtssensors.com/fileadmin/media/pdfs/Products/Industrial/E_Series/Data_Sheet_E-Series_EP2_Start_Stop_551335_EN.pdf

Driver code (not written by me):
'
'  propeller code to return magnet position as a function of
'  MCU clock cycles for the Temposonics EP2D linear position
'  sensor.
'
'
'  LIMITATIONS:
'
'  This function returns the position of the first magnet only.
'  (Magnet nearest head of sensor)
'
'  This function assumes the reference magnet is affixed to the
'  end of the sensor.  It will time out (and fail to loop) if
'  there is no magnet on the sensor. THE CODE SHOULD BE CHANGED
'  TO WAIT A FIXED AMOUNT OF TIME THEN LOOP IF NO VALUE IS
'  RETURNED.  In practice this has not been a problem except when
'  running on a breadboard.
'

'

VAR
  long pulseWidth

PUB start

'' Start a cog with the measurement routine

return cognew(@entry,@pulseWidth)

PUB getPosition

'' Return the elapsed time (in clock ticks) between start and stop pulses

pulseWidth := 0                              ' Use zero to indicate no pulse seen yet
   repeat until pulseWidth                      ' Wait until this changes to non-zero
   return pulseWidth                            ' Return the new value

PUB getPositionNoWait
  return pulseWidth
PUB clearPosition
  pulseWidth := 0

DAT
entry   org

init    mov       t1,   #1      wz              '  configure start pin as output