Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Parallax Elev-8 V3 - third flight - cautions — Parallax Forums

Parallax Elev-8 V3 - third flight - cautions

3rd flight with ELEV-8 - Wind avg 5mph, gusting to 11mph, 28 degrees F, density altitude -1566'

Altitude < 20 ft, distance from radio < 100 ft

I'm still not comfortable with orienting by the running lights - this will require a lot more practice. Combined with the wind, had several hard landings and one flip - with no damage to the aircraft

CAUTIONS --

1. When arming I failed to keep the throttle at zero when returning. As a result the aircraft literally JUMPED 15 feet into the air. Once again the practice I've had with quadcopters kept this from becoming a disaster (I'm still a very new pilot < 10 hours). But I shouldn't have had to depend on piloting skills to recover from this kind of unforced error.

2. While the hard landings didn't damage the craft - the battery was coming loose from the straps (ended flying at this point). The battery straps were very tight when I started. This is the second time I've noticed the battery straps coming loose after hard landings.

3. I put the DX7 transmitter into 'Range Test' mode. The system passed. But while in this mode the DX7 did not track the time of the flight.

I've got about 45 minutes flight time with the ELEV-8 now.

Comments

• Hello macirish -

(1) You're suggesting that you were able to arm the V3 with both sticks inward, but not downward - is this correct?
    (2) Do you have soft foam between the chassis and battery? If not, add some. This allows a bit of compression that evens the strap pressure across the battery, holding it much more securely compared to being sandwiched between the rigid bottom plate and strap.
    (3) Not sure about this one. The radio design from Spektrum have changed too fast for me to keep track of their functions. Since we started shipping ELEV-8s I think I've seen at least six Spektrum Tx models.