Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Insert/Eject USB using Basic Stamp 2 — Parallax Forums

Insert/Eject USB using Basic Stamp 2

Hi guys. Im new in basic stamp, can u help me how can i effect or insert a usb using basic stamp? or is it possible? TIA to all who will reply :)

Comments

• ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    Welcome to the forums. Please clarify your question. Do you already have a BASIC Stamp? Do you have a Board of Education, which may or may not have a USB adapter built in? You'll likely need an FTDI USB serial adapter to program a stamp with most PCs.

https://www.parallax.com/product/28030
  • i`ve already have serial to usb sir, all i need is there any method that u can plug and eject the usb using basic stamp, basically u will cut and connect the usb. you will not pull the usb. Is there a way sir?
  • kwinnkwinn Posts: 8,697
    i`ve already have serial to usb sir, all i need is there any method that u can plug and eject the usb using basic stamp, basically u will cut and connect the usb. you will not pull the usb. Is there a way sir?

It might be possible to use small relays to disconnect the usb drive using a BS2 to switch the relays.
  • ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    Need more info. Per kwinn, you could use a relay on either side of the USB/serial adapter to break a connection. A Stamp or another circuit could control the relay. Is that what you're after? Please describe what your end goal is.
  • kwinn wrote: »
    i`ve already have serial to usb sir, all i need is there any method that u can plug and eject the usb using basic stamp, basically u will cut and connect the usb. you will not pull the usb. Is there a way sir?

It might be possible to use small relays to disconnect the usb drive using a BS2 to switch the relays.

thanks kwinn for the suggestion :)

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2016-06-22 14:50