Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Attaching a rocket to by Boe-Bot — Parallax Forums

Attaching a rocket to by Boe-Bot

I am a teacher trying to figure out how to launch an Estes model rocket from a pad mounted to a Boe-Bot. It is a six volts igniter, what is the best way to get the power to the igniter. We already tried pin 15 to Vdd lot. We would really like your input for this scenario.

Comments

• What school is this, and how do I register?
  • PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2016-04-13 18:57
    CrawDad wrote: »
    I am a teacher trying to figure out how to launch an Estes model rocket from a pad mounted to a Boe-Bot. It is a six volts igniter, what is the best way to get the power to the igniter. We already tried pin 15 to Vdd lot. We would really like your input for this scenario.
    That probably did not work, and could have damaged the pin.

The best way would be using a relay, such as this,

https://www.parallax.com/product/27114

It has been tested with the BS2. I think the 20 AMP should suffice.

EDIT: Link Fixed. It's also on sale!

• @Publison, your link goes to the C3 board
  • DavidZemon wrote: »
    @Publison, your link goes to the C3 board

Thanks David. Link Fixed.

• W9GFOW9GFO Posts: 4,010
    A relay is probably the "right" way to do it but a servo flipping a switch, or even closing a circuit using a paper clip would be more interesting.
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2016-04-14 15:07
    I use FETs to turn on the electronic igniters in my model rocket launcher. I haven't used it for a while, but I think I was using IRL520 or IRF520 MOSFETs. Seems like someone on here posted a similar rocket launcher that could also do multiple rockets. Guess I need to get mine back up on the website soon.

Edit: Didn't find the post I was looking for, but I did find a whole discussion of electronic igniter circuits here: http://forums.parallax.com/discussion/92938/firing-circuit