Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Power Distribution Board on ELEV8 V2 — Parallax Forums

Power Distribution Board on ELEV8 V2

TomWolvesTomWolves Posts: 29
edited 2015-12-26 10:08 in Robotics
Hello folks, I am new to building Multi rotors. However I do fly UAV's, I want to build the "Elev8 - V2 , in doing so I bought a book titled "Build your Own Quadcopter", in this book the author builds a ELEV8 and uses instructions from Parallax ELEV8-V2, the author uses a "Power Distribution Board instead of the "power distribution harness", BUT!!! he uses the bottom chassis plate to attach the Power Distribution Board and motor booms first. In the Parallax instructions they attach the motor/booms esc's to the top chassis plate 1st and then the bottom chassis plate last. My question is could someone give me advise on how I can attach the Power distribution board on the right way. Thank you very much for your time! I appreciate immensely.
Forgive me if I post this in the wrong category as I don't see multi-rotor or ELEV8 categories.

Comments

• PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2015-10-12 19:24
    Are you using a third party Power Distribution Board? You should not need anything extra with the Rev 2 kit, as it already has an enhanced harness.

The book was written before the ELEV-8 version 2 came out.

I collaborated on the instructions for the V2, and have built two from the instructions, so I know it works. :)
  • BTW. Welcome to the forums!
  • Thank you for the reply Publison, well the power distribution board is from Hobby King, that the author of the book recommends to make it easier and neater ( less congestion of wires), I was just going by the book as this will be my first build. I know the kit comes with everything, and yes your right too that the book must be out of date. Just seemed to me the Power distribution board would be the way to go!, perhaps not. I am still in the investigating stage. Thank you! I appreciate your help.