Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Win10 ADOPTERS: Yay or Nay? - Page 4 — Parallax Forums

Win10 ADOPTERS: Yay or Nay?

Comments

• kwinnkwinn Posts: 8,697
    Tor wrote: »
    koehler wrote: »
    from any company who's business is producing software, Linux is a cancer.
    Say again? I've been a software developer for 33 years, for a company who's business is producing software. We've used many platforms over the years, but MS Windows was never a serious part. Now all our customers want everything on Linux. In fact, after Linux became a player the customers can afford many more servers and processing setups and the whole market has exploded with opportunities for software developers.

+ 1

Linux is only a cancer to Microsoft and those companies that want to lock customers in to their OS and software. Those that have embraced Linux have created a large ecosystem where software and hardware developers have flourished. Those developers have also improved that system by giving back time and code to make improvements to the basic infrastructure of that system.
  • Heater.Heater. Posts: 21,230
    koehler,
    ...from any company who's business is producing software, Linux is a cancer.
    Tor,
    Now all our customers want everything on Linux. In fact, after Linux became a player the customers can afford many more servers and processing setups and the whole market has exploded with opportunities for software developers.
    koeler is right.

Given the time at which Bullmer made that famous statement. Since the birth of the PC, even back in the 8 bit "PC" days, huge fortunes have been made by those who can produce software that people find useful. Digital Research, Microsoft, Adobe, Oracle and so on and so on.

The business model at work there was "we write software, you incompetent chimps cannot, you pay us." Closed source distribution, licensing, copy protection dongles and so on.